Flood & Burn

Sean Taylor

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: STCD112

Release Date:  03 February 2017

Label:  Sean Taylor Songs

Packaging Type:  Digipak

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  5052442009962

Genres:  Blues  

  • Description

    ".... he looks up – the clouds are split
    Asunder – and above his head he sees
    The clear Moon, and the glory of the heavens."

    William Wordsworth 'A Night-Piece'

    Sean Taylor's latest album 'Flood and Burn' is made from eleven new songs and one cover. The songs touch on a variety of music genres.

    'A Good Place To Die' is a cocktail of Townes Van Zandt and Bob Dylan. 'Bad Case Of The Blues' could never have been written without Tom Waits. 'Cruelty Of Man' is the jazz song and opening song 'Codeine Dreams' is the ambient beginning that sets the tone for everything that follows. Blues is served up with 'Run To The Water' and the album's title track. 'Flood and Burn' was recorded live in the studio. Both 'Troubadour' and 'Life Goes On' have been features of Sean's live set for the last couple of years and have grown with every gig. 'Until The End Of Time' is the happy song on the album. 'Heartbreak Hotel' is the one cover and features Eliza Gilkyson as guest. The closing track 'Better Man' is about the beauty and danger of being a musician. The song was written with special guest double bass legend Danny Thompson in mind. As always, Danny delivers.

    Other special guests include Leonard Cohen's band leader Roscoe Beck (double bass), Hana Piranha (violin), Andre Moran (slide guitar), Ephraim Owens (Trumpet), Jaimee Harris (Backing vocals), Mike Hardwick (Pedal Steel), and Joe Morales (saxophone) ...

    The album was recorded at Congress House Studios in Austin, Texas with producer Mark Hallman (Carole King, Ani Di Franco)


    ''An absolutely superb guitarist ... reminiscent of John Martyn" Bob Harris, Radio 2

    ''Articulate, compelling ... brilliant'' (Four stars) Mojo Magazine

    ''A bluesy devotional intensity that rightly draws comparisons to John Martyn" Q Magazine

    'A fine blues guitarist ... Taylor is a man to watch' Guardian

    "Formidable and skilled...recalls Chris Isaak.' (Four Stars) Uncut

    'Sean Taylor's work just gets classier ... his talent might yet puncture the mainstream' Classic Rock 8/10

    ''A star in the making ...a superb talent'' Metro

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Codeine Dreams
      • 2. A Good Place To Die
      • 3. The Cruelty Of Man
      • 4. Troubadour
      • 5. Run To The Water
      • 6. Life Goes On
      • 7. Flood And Burn
      • 8. Beautiful Mind
      • 9. Bad Case Of The Blues
      • 10. Until The End Of Time
      • 11. Heartbreak Hotel
      • 12. Better Man