Love Against Death

Sean Taylor

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: STCD5

Release Date:  26 March 2012

Label:  Sean Taylor Songs

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  5052442001614

Genres:  Folk  English Folk  

  • Description

    Ace guitarist/songwriter, Sean Taylor is the righteous embodiment of inner-London youth … fighting disaffection through his words and music. His stunning new album defines this moment.

    A unique young artist who has truly paid his dues and walked the walk for the past 4 years (4-500 shows, 4 albums) comes of age with the superbly written and recorded 'Love Against Death' – a tantalising and gritty journey through these challenging times.

    In Sean's own words …
    "Peace against War. Hope against Hate. Unity against Division. Freedom against Fear. Love against Death".
    The album was born and brought up in Kilburn, north London and comes to you by way of Austin, Texas. I'm an unwilling member of the generation defined by neo liberalism. One of Thatcher's children, who became Blair's adults. This album is a howl against both, a direct response to a world where we are judged by what we consume rather than what we contribute.
    'Love Against Death' is a challenge to a reality dominated by greed, inequality, and injustice. 'Love Against Death' is the choice we make at every moment, in every relationship, and by every action. It's about taking sides.
    The album was recorded in the USA by Mark Hallman. After hearing Mark's work, with Eliza Gilkyson in particular, I realised he would be perfect. It was simply a matter of bribery, threat, and persistence. I wanted to capture my live guitar sound, and Mark is the absolute master in this area. As a session guitarist himself, he knows exactly how to record and mix different guitars. He has also produced Carole King, Ani di Franco, Tom Russell, Iain Matthews, as well as working with Stevie Ray Vaughan, Oasis, and Lyle Lovett.
    Job done.
    Sean "

    Absolutely superb guitarist…reminiscent of John Martyn" Bob Harris (BBC 2)

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Stand Up
      • 2. Kilburn
      • 3. Absinthe Moon
      • 4. Western Intervention
      • 5. Cassady
      • 6. Sixteen Tons
      • 7. Ballad Of A Happy Man
      • 8. Raglan Road
      • 9. Heaven
      • 10. Coal Not Dole
      • 11. Les Fleurs Du Mal
      • 12. Hymn