The Big Session Volume 1


Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: 87105

Release Date:  31 August 2004

Label:  Westpark

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  4015698516722

Genres:  Folk  

  • Description

    From the beginning, The Big Session had ambition. Every town and city has its pub sessions: music events at which a local resident band is joined in performance by a bunch of singers and musicians from the floor. They are the bedrock of the roots, acoustic and folk scenes. The Big Session, however, asked "What if the resident band (Oysterband) happens to be the finest veteran folk alternative of the past 25 years and the floor singers were the likes of Eliza Carthy, Jim Moray, Handsome Family, representing the very best and exciting new names from the current roots scenes. Wouldn't that be something? With the addition of June Tabor, Show of Hands, James O'Grady and Ben Ivitsky, that's exactly what The Big Session is!
    Track listing with lead vocalists: John Barleycorn (John Jones, Steve Knightley, June Tabor) / Whitehaven (Brett Sparks,John Jones) / Lowlands (June Tabor) / Country Life (Steve Knightly) / Fuse (Eliza Carthy) / 10,000 Miles, Hungarian March (Eliza Carthy) / The New Jerusalem (everyone) / When The Helicopter Comes (Brett Sparks) / The House Carpenter (Brett Sparks, Rennie Sparks) / The Cuckoo's Nest (Jim Moray) / We Shall Come Home (John Jones) / Love Will Tear Us Apart (June Tabor, John Jones) / Factory Girl (June Tabor,John Jones) / Country Life ("I like to rise when the sun shines") (Eliza Carthy) / The Cornish Farewell Shanty ( John Jones, everyone).

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. John Barleycorn (feat John Jones, Steve Knightley, June Tabor)
      • 2. Whitehaven (feat Brett Sparks,John Jones)
      • 3. Lowlands (feat June Tabor)
      • 4. Country Life (feat Steve Knightly)
      • 5. Fuse (feat Eliza Carthy)
      • 6. Ten Thousand Miles, Hungarian March (feat Eliza Carthy)
      • 7. The New Jerusalem (feat everyone)
      • 8. When That Helicopter Comes (feat Brett Sparks)
      • 9. The House Carpenter (feat Brett Sparks, Rennie Sparks)
      • 10. The Cuckoo's Nest (feat Jim Moray)
      • 11. We Shall Come Home (feat John Jones)
      • 12. Love Will Tear Us Apart (feat June Tabor, John Jones)
      • 13. Factory Girl (feat June Tabor,John Jones)
      • 14. Country Life "I Like To Rise" (feat Eliza Carthy)
      • 15. The Cornish Farewell Shanty (feat John Jones, Everyone)