Oxford Girl & Other Stories


Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: WP87190

Email me when this is available

Release Date:  04 May 2009

Label:  Running Man

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  4047179431521

Genres:  Folk  English Folk  

  • Description

    Oysterband revisit 14 classic songs from all periods of their career in their present dynamic acoustic style to celebrate their 30th anniversary. This is NOT a studio album of new songs, NOT the follow-up to Meet You There (2007), NOT a "Best Of…", and NOT a systematic retrospective of Oysterband's 30-year career.

    Instead, it's a set of all-new acoustic recordings of some favourite songs, both self-written and traditional, rearranged (and in some cases reinvented) for now. What they have in common is that the band felt it had something new to say about them.

    The recordings have been done as simply and directly as possible, with voices, harmony singing and acoustic instruments to the fore. That's how Oysterband started out, and it felt right to mark the band's pearl (yes, really) anniversary in the same fashion. But it's also the way their most recent studio recordings have been pointing. The band think this is as much a look forward as a look back - a record about where they are now, not where they were then. In many ways this is Oysterband's autobiography in song.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. The Early Days Of A Better Nation
      • 2. When I'm Up I Can't Get Down
      • 3. By Northern Light
      • 4. Blood-Red Roses
      • 5. The Soul's Electric
      • 6. The Oxford Girl
      • 7. Little Brother
      • 8. What Wondrous Love Is This?
      • 9. Angels Of The River
      • 10. After Rain
      • 11. Shouting About Jerusalem
      • 12. The Lakes Of Cool Flynn
      • 13. The False Knight On The Road
      • 14. Put Out The Lights