This House Will Stand €“ The Best Of Oysterband 1998 - 2015


Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: 2CD


Release Date:  27 May 2016

Label:  Navigator Records

Packaging Type:  Digipak

No of Units:  2

Barcode:  805520620963

Genres:  Folk  Rock  

  • Description

    'This House Will Stand : The Best of Oysterband 1998 – 2015' is a 2-CD, 29 track collection comprising 15 tracks chosen by the band from their last 6 studio albums (including 'Ragged Kingdom', their multi-award-winning reunion collaboration with June Tabor) and 14 unreleased tracks, rare B-sides, live cuts, demos and alternative versions of other Oysterband songs.

    Oysterband has been one of the most consistently creative folk and rock bands of the past 38 years. Since their origins in 1977-1978 as the Oyster Ceilidh Band and their subsequent growth and constant development over the decades (sometimes wearing a more rock music mantle, sometimes a more folk/trad one), their musical vision has always burned bright. Following the critical and commercial success of 'Ragged Kingdom' (2011) and 'Diamonds On The Water' (2014), the band has been working on other projects including John Jones 'Never Stop Moving', story-telling tours by founder members Jones, Ian Telfer (fiddle) and Alan Prosser (guitar) as Oysters3, and the rebirth of their annual Big Session Festival in Buxton. This core membership of the band has been instrumental in the continuity of the Oysterband sound throughout these permutations and changes.

    This new collection of recordings is drawn from one of the band's most creative and successful periods to date and offers not only key recordings but demos and alternative takes that offer a further, and essential, insight into the work of one of the folk scene's most vital forces.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. The Soul's Electric
      • 2. Where The World Divides
      • 3. Spirit Of Dust
      • 4. Uncommercial Song
      • 5. Blackwaterside
      • 6. Street Of Dreams
      • 7. Walking Down The Road With You
      • 8. Love Will Tear Us Apart
      • 9. Dancing As Fast As I Can (Single Edit)
      • 10. Here Comes The Flood
      • 11. A Clown's Heart
      • 12. Rise Above
      • 13. A River Runs
      • 14. On The Edge
      • 15. Bright Morning Star

      Disc 2

      • 1. I Built This House
      • 2. Ways Of Holding On (Single Edit)
      • 3. Jail Song Two (Live)
      • 4. Never Left (Alt. Version)
      • 5. Hangman Cry
      • 6. And As For You (Alt. Version)
      • 7. The Sailor's Bonnet
      • 8. Mississippi Summer (Alt. Version)
      • 9. Scattergun
      • 10. Bold Riley (Alt. Version)
      • 11. I Once Loved A Lass
      • 12. She's Moved On (Demo)
      • 13. Long Dark Street (Alt. Version)
      • 14. The Cornish Farewell Shanty (Demo)