African Ripples

Keith Brown Trio

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: BG2150

Email me when this is available

Release Date:  23 July 2021

Label:  Space Time Records

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  3341348032733

Genres:  Jazz  Contemporary  

  • Description

    'African Ripples', by the multi-faceted pianist, composer and arranger Keith Brown is his third album as a leader and introduces a new iteration of the Keith Brown trio now anchored by bassist Dezron Douglas and rotating drummers Darrell Green and Terron "Tank" Gully.

    Augmenting the mix is an abundance of notable special guests including trumpeter Russell Gunn, saxophonist Anthony Ware, vocalist Melanie Charles, vocalist Camille Thurman, vocalist Tamara Brown, spoken word artist Cyrus Aaron, and percussionist Negah Santos.

    After recently appearing on a number of universally acclaimed jazz recordings, including those by Jazzmeia Horn, Charles Tolliver, and Gregory Tardy, Keith Brown fulfills a long-held artistic vision on 'African Ripples'. "The music of African Ripples was composed and collected to convey my personal experiences through Black music and how it has rippled out in so many different directions," says Brown. "These ripples serve to bring to light our different relationships and connections and different variations of the same impactful shared experiences. This music has always been an extension of how we express ourselves within these relationships."

    Recorded at Samurai Hotel Studios in Queens NY, 'African Ripples' features innovative original compositions by Brown as well as several arrangements of tunes by such luminaries as Fats Waller and Stevie Wonder.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. African Ripples Epigraph
      • 2. Truth And Comfort
      • 3. Nafid
      • 4. Just You, Just Me
      • 5. 512 Arkansas Street
      • 6. African Ripples, Pt. 1
      • 7. African Ripples, Pt. 2
      • 8. Queen
      • 9. Come Back As A Flower
      • 10. 118th & 8th
      • 11. What's Left Behind
      • 12. Song Of Samson
      • 13. Eye To Eye With The Sun
      • 14. Prayer For My Nephews
      • 15. African Ripples