Eric Brace, Peter Cooper & Thomm Jutz

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: RBRCD0024

Release Date:  01 February 2019

Label:  Red Beet Records

Packaging Type:  Digipak

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  8435631111924

Genres:  Folk  

  • Description

    Eric, Peter, and Thomm have once again combined their forces to create a singular new record, 'Riverland,' fourteen interconnected tales of Mississippi, both the river and the state. Songs about its people, its water, its history, its past, its magic, its madness.

    "Riverland" finds the boys working with frequent collaborators Mark Fain (bass) and Lynn Williams (drums), and features significant contributions from the Steeldrivers' Tammy Rogers (fiddle), banjo players Justin Moses and Terry Baucom, and legendary mandolin player Mike Compton.

    Why Mississippi? It's hard to say exactly, but start with the impact of the river and the state on American life, culture, art, and politics. These boys are a Southerner, a non-Southerner, and an ex-German, but they're all students of history, of the passage of time, of the forces that shape our culture. They're aware of the brilliance and fragility of "The American Experiment" especially as it manifests in Mississippi. They share a love of Mark Twain and John Hartford, Faulkner and Willie Morris, the blues and string bands. All of this and much more finds its way into "Riverland."

    Through thirteen new compositions (and one devastating cover), you'll hear about the Flood of 1927; the adventures of a traveling mule; the twilight years of legendary keelboat man Mike Fink; the farmer fighting to keep his family's land going; the plan General Ulysses S. Grant's had to change the world by taking Vicksburg; and you'll learn about the Reverend Will D. Campbell and his work for equality and racial justice in the south over the course of a lifetime.

    In this record, you'll feel the currents of the Big River, and you should just give into them, and jump in.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. River City
      • 2. King Of The Keelboat Men
      • 3. Down Along The River
      • 4. Drowned And Washed Away
      • 5. Tom T. And Brother Will
      • 6. Mississippi Magic
      • 7. In The Presence Of The River
      • 8. Southern Mule
      • 9. To Be A Steamboat Man
      • 10. As Far As I Can See
      • 11. It Might Be Hollywood
      • 12. Uneasy Does It
      • 13. Fort Defiance
      • 14. Mississippi, Rest My Soul