Alive In The Forest Of Odd

Theo May's Odd Unit

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD


Release Date:  12 January 2024

Label:  Discus Music

Packaging Type:  Digipak

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  5051078009124

Genres:  Jazz  Contemporary  

  • Description

    An engaging and dynamic mix of compositions from this young protegé of the late Keith Tippett, where the jazz is strongly influenced by the English pastoral tradition. The result is both brand new and nostalgic, conjuring up a strong sense of atmosphere and place.

    Odd Unit was originally formed in 2019 by Theo May bringing together jazz and classical students from the Royal College, Royal Academy and Guildhall schools of music in London to perform and record Theo's original compositions. This first album adds additional musicians to bulk out the sound and bring a new dynamic to the group, and was recorded in late 2022.

    Theo May: violin and compositions
    Gustavo Clayton Marucci: Bb and bass clarinets
    Will Bracken: piano
    Ali Watson: double bass
    Alex Temple-Heald: drums

    Francesca Brito & Jan Halen: violins (tracks 3 & 5)
    Cubby Howard: cello (tracks 3 & 8)
    Daniel Swani: flute (tracks 4, 10, 11)

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Voyager
      • 2. Set Free to Sing in the Clear Sky
      • 3. Solemnity
      • 4. Politicians
      • 5. Twelves Blood
      • 6. The Place Without Words
      • 7. The Joy Of Nine
      • 8. Under The Earth
      • 9. Kopanitsa
      • 10. The Ballad of Acceptance