Otis Taylor Collection

Otis Taylor

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: TEL3644402

Release Date:  12 January 2015

Label:  Concord Collections

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  888072364448

Genres:  Rock  

  • Description

    Part of Concord Music Group's 'Collection' series, this thirteen track compilation gathers together some of the finest tracks that the blues musician Otis Taylor has recorded for the Telarc label.

    Chances are you already know roots visionary Otis Taylor's music from the movies ("Ten Million Slaves" in 2009's Johnny Depp - driven drama Public Enemies, "Nasty Letter" in 2007's Shooter, starring Mark Wahlberg, and a slew of tracks, including "Hand on Your Stomach" and "Rain so Hard" in 2002's Billy Bob Thornton-led The Badge, are just a handful of credits). To call Taylor a cutting edge artist is an understatement. Although his music is based in the blues and folk realm, his meticulously crafted recordings crash the barriers of jazz, rock, funk, Americana and a myriad of other genres to create a hybrid that Taylor labels "trance blues." That signature style serves as a backbone for his frank tales of struggle, freedom, conflict and desire.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Little Willie
      • 2. Ten Million Slaves
      • 3. Nasty Letter
      • 4. Hey Joe
      • 5. The Devil's Gonna Lie
      • 6. Huckleberry Blues
      • 7. Blue Rain in Africa
      • 8. Hookers in the Street
      • 9. Mandan Woman
      • 10. Ran So Hard The Sun Went Down
      • 11. Romans Had Their Way
      • 12. Looking For Some Heat
      • 13. Buy Myself Some Freedom