Los Chinches

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: MOV003

Release Date:  01 April 2013

Label:  Movimientos Records

Packaging Type:  Digipak

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  5052442004042

Genres:  World Music  

  • Description

    Los Chinches - the band that began as a sweet dream in a jungle hut - will release their long-awaited debut album Fongo on 25 March (Movimientos Records). Drawing upon the retro style of Chicha from 1960s Peru, Los Chinches' epic new sound harnesses the psychedelic twists of Peruvian Cumbia as well as the Punk and Ska spirit of London. This, along with their rocking tropical energy, makes for blistering live performances interlaced with feverishly addictive melodies. Their sound stays faithful to the original bands from the era, such as Juaneco y Su Combo and Los Mirlos, whilst taking influences from 60s garage rock and surf guitar and bringing it bang up-to-date with a distinctly London attitude. Since forming in 2009, Los Chinches have blazed a trail across the London scene at an eclectic array of club nights, folk events and rock'n' roll venues. They have been part of the prestigious Latin music festival La Linea with a performance at the Barbican, they've packed dance floors at venues such as Cargo and Rich Mix and they've rocked festival stages at Glastonbury, Bestival, The Big Chill and WOMAD. Last year, whilst working on the album, their busy schedule included a tour in the Netherlands, a show at BT London Live (Victoria Park) alongside Ska Cubano and a sell-out gig at the Village Underground in Shoreditch. Now in 2013, they are ready to unleash their debut album Fongo onto the world. Its title, Los Chinches explain, is taken from the name of "a mysterious deity, a visionary and a clown with a taste for jungle liquor and Amazonian beauties". It is, they continue, "through Fongo that we channel the spirit of Chicha who acts as a spiritual councillor and a guide for Los Chinches. We ask Fongo to bless us all with good vibrations. There is a Fongo in all of us and our quest is to bring out the spirit of Fongo in everyone who hears our sound. I am Fongo...you are Fongo...we are all Fongo!"

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Romantica Amazonica
      • 2. Senorita
      • 3. Can You Tell?
      • 4. Chicha Love
      • 5. Guiro Hero
      • 6. El Longing
      • 7. Mueve Calor
      • 8. Fongo
      • 9. Be Still My Beating Corazon
      • 10. La Serpiente Negra
      • 11. Ceviche(Con Choclo)
      • . Gracias