Kim Edgar

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: QFM006

Release Date:  03 February 2023

Label:  Quietly Fantastic

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  5065001146039

Genres:  Folk  Singer Songwriter  

  • Description

    Consequences, the fifth studio album from acclaimed Edinburgh songwriter and pianist Kim Edgar, considers the personal, social and environmental impact of human behaviour. It features collaborations written and recorded each month from October 2021 - September 2022 with songwriters Kim admires: Ron Sexsmith and Sandra Le Couteur (Canada), Horse McDonald, Boo Hewerdine, Goodnight Louisa, James Grant, Rachel Sermanni and Louis Abbott (Scotland), Dan Bettridge (Wales), J-P Piirainen (Finland), Stone from the band Mayday (Taiwan) and William Crighton (Australia). Emotion and connection are at the heart of Kim's work: through observed and lived experiences, she ponders what it is to be human, creating stories told with honesty and empathy that open hearts, minds and discussions: " Heart stopping...our very own Tori Amos " (Sunday Herald)

    "Intense and thought provoking" (The List)

    " Very moving, literate, allusive and expressively sung" * * * * * (Scotland On Sunday)

    With four critically acclaimed solo albums under her belt, Kim has been described as "an example of everything that's great about contemporary music" and " probably one of the best songwriters in Britain today. " * * * * * (Spiral Earth).

    The songs explore the need for kindness, the lasting impact of childhood trauma and what planet earth might say to humanity right now. They also consider the impact of war on the most vulnerable, and what it means to witness injustice (such as the invasion of Ukraine) without raising your voice or taking action.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Any Wishing Star
      • 2. Save Myself (Run Away) ft. Horse McDonald
      • 3. The Edge Of Shame
      • 4. The Rolling Sea ft. Dan Bettridge
      • 5. Fifty To One ft. Goodnight Louisa
      • 6. It Only Takes A Silence ft. J-P Piirainen
      • 7. Vent Fou ft. Sandra Le Couteur
      • 8. Cornerstone ft. James Grant
      • 9. I Dream ft. Stone
      • 10. Ripples ft. Rachel Sermanni
      • 11. Whisper Pink ft. Mikey Owers
      • 12. In The Long Run