The Ornate Lie

Kim Edgar

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: QFM003

Release Date:  02 April 2012

Label:  Quietly Fantastic

Packaging Type:  Digipak

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  5052442001607

Genres:  Folk  Scottish Folk  

  • Description

    This second solo offering from pianist/singer/songwriter Kim Edgar has already elicited positive responses for its strong melodies, well observed lyrics and honest intimacy. Kim Edgar's second solo album, 'The Ornate Lie' (producer Mattie Foulds), is powerful and compelling, in a similar vein to her acclaimed debut, 'Butterflies and Broken Glass' (2008), with heightened energy and vigour. Kim's vocal and piano playing are firmly centre stage, with support from leading musicians including Steven Polwart (guitar), Kevin McGuire (bass), Mattie Foulds (drums), Corrina Hewat (harp) and string quartet, Mr McFall's Chamber, and backing vocals from Karine Polwart, Inge Thomson and Andy Tucker. 'The Ornate Lie' draws on topics including child neglect, the objectification of women, love, helplessness and mortality, and has already elicited positive responses for Kim's signature tempo changes, strong melodies, well observed lyrics and honest intimacy. Kim has attracted five star reviews for recorded work and her live performances. She enjoys leading a choir at The BIG Project youth and children's charity, and recently composed a multi-choral commission for Celtic Connections and The Usher Hall, in celebration of the Olympics. Kim is also a member of genre-hopping collective, The Burns Unit, (as are Karine Polwart and Mattie Foulds) whose debut release, Side Show (2010), received much critical acclaim, including being awarded one of the top 5 gigs of 2011 (The Independent). Also available QFM002 'Butterflies and Broken Glass'

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. A Poppy Blossoms
      • 2. Not For Sharing
      • 3. The Ornate Lie
      • 4. Walls
      • 5. Hands Held
      • 6. All The Little Sunbursts
      • 7. The Steamy Note
      • 8. Blood
      • 9. Ice & Ashes
      • 10. Ready
      • 11. A Favour From The Sea
      • 12. Fragile
      • . 8