Danse Mi Vise (Dance My Song)

Kelpie (Kerstin Blodig & Ian Melrose)

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: 87389

Release Date:  20 March 2020

Label:  Westpark

Packaging Type:  Digipak

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  4015698039900

Genres:  Folk  Contemporary Folk  

  • Description

    Kerstin Blodig (N/D): vocals, guitars, bodhrán, mandolin. Ian Melrose (Sco): vocals, guitars, whistles, bass, percussion. This is another Kelpie-style album with minimalistic but poignant and expertly-crafted arrangements: Two acoustic guitars in different tunings and techniques - fingerstyle and plectrum, bodhrán, whistles, mandolin, bass and last, not least, two wonderfully blending voices: Kerstin's crystal-clear sensual mezzo and Ian's mellow baritone. After 23 years of playing and recording together in different projects and on countless CD productions, the internationally renowned "Celtic-Scandinavian Dream-Team", Kerstin Blodig and Ian Melrose, are a perfectly synchronised musical duo, with an almost telepathic communication. As the first line of the well-known Norwegian song 'Danse mi vise, grate min sang' (dance my ballad, cry my tune) suggest, some of the songs will make you dance, some of them might even make you a bit melancholy. This is just the emotional spectrum life has to offer, and Kelpie try to reflect that wide scale in various musical shades. All of the songs, some coverversions (Gershwin, Horslips and Paul Simon), some traditionals, some self-penned, are favourites and come directly from the heart. KERSTIN BLODIG: The Norwegian-German singer and guitarist is regarded as one of the most important interpreters of Scandinavian and Celtic world-music. She has studied musicology, composition and is a renowned producer. As a founding member of the groups Touchwood (2 CDs), Norland Wind (4 CDs) und Talking Water (2 CDs), her musical creativity covers a large spectrum. She cultivates her Norwegian roots not only in duo Kelpie (4 CDs), but also in her solo performances and her pan-Scandinavian all-women trio Huldrelokkk (2 CDs). Her new 4th solo CD Out of the Woods was released by the prestigious audiophile label Stockfisch Records and sets the bar even higher than her debut solo album Valivann, which won the renowned German Critics Prize in 2002. Being one of the finest women guitarists in the acoustic scene today, she is official endorser of Gibson Guitars. "Blodig impressed us with one of the most expressive voices ever heard" Glåmdalen (No) IAN MELROSE: From Scotland is a renowned guitarist, composer, arranger and producer in the European acoustic scene. Live- and studio projects have included Clannad (world-tour 1996, Grammy-Award-winning CD Landmarks 1998), with Kerstin in Kelpie, Talking Water and Norland Wind trio, the Duggan brothers (producer, arranger of "Rubicon" album 2005). Solo appearances at many major festivals including Montreal Jazz Festival (CAN) and Celtic Connections in Glasgow (Scotland). He has made 6 solo CDs including his latest world-music opus, Swirling Sands, and two duet albums with accordion virtuoso Manfred Leuchter on Acoustic Music Records. He is an official endorser of Avalon Guitars, DR Strings and G7th capos. "..displays Melrose as one of the best Celtic-based fingerpickers on the scene..." Acoustic Guitar (USA) " .. a first-class guitarist ...... a brilliant fingerpicker!" The Times (GB)

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. VÃ¥ren Din
      • 2. Dearg Doom
      • 3. Polsdans Fra Lofoten
      • 4. Lord Mongrave And The Lady Green
      • 5. Beautiful Parade
      • 6. Vise For Gærne Jinter
      • 7. Right Time
      • 8. Danse Mi Vise
      • 9. BrudhisslÃ¥t/ Det Annet Brudestykke
      • 10. I Mine KÃ¥te Ungdomsdagar
      • 11. Scraps
      • 12. Summertime

Liquid error (sections/featured-collection-pmc-genre line 91): comparison of String with 1 failed