Twenty: The Best Of Sweet Chorus

John Etheridge

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: DY030

Release Date:  07 June 2019

Label:  Dyad Records

Packaging Type:  Digipak

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  5024545858020

Genres:  Jazz  Contemporary  

  • Description

    This compilation is a celebration of the twenty years that John Etheridge's Sweet Chorus has been touring and recording. They formed to pay tribute to the remarkable man with whom guitarist and leader Etheridge (Soft Machine), was privileged to share the stage for many years - the great violinist Stephane Grappelli.

    Taking its cue from the Hot Club of France - the legendary group that featured Grappelli and Django Reinhardt the band features John's dazzling guitar work and the scintillating violin of Chris Garrick. The relationship of these two has been described as one of the most potent in European jazz and backed up by Dave Kelbie and Andy Crowdy/Malcolm Creese, the band produces breath-taking sallies through repertoire both old and contemporary. A must for all fans of melodically based inspired, swinging acoustic jazz.

    "In his spirit 'Sweet Chorus' has never tried to be an authentic Hot Club act, and this compilation presents an eclectic and, we hope, imaginative programme. Thanks for all these years to the remarkable Christian Garrick, the propulsive Dave Kelbie and our two great bass players, Malcolm Creese and Andy Crowdy." - John Etheridge

    Personnel: John Etheridge (guitars), Christian Garrick (violin), Malcolm Creese, Andy Crowdy (bass), Dave Kelbie (rhythm guitar)

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Chanson De Rue
      • 2. Swing Guitars
      • 3. I Wonder Where My Baby Is Tonight
      • 4. I Got It Bad And That Ain't Good
      • 5. Rhythm Futur
      • 6. The Folks Who Live On The Hill
      • 7. Sweet Chorus
      • 8. Blue Moon
      • 9. Jaguar
      • 10. Porte
      • 11. Chasing Shadows
      • 12. Moments's Notice
      • 13. Don't Worry 'bout Me
      • 14. I Saw You Passing By
      • 15. Seven Come Eleven
      • 16. I'll Be Seeing You
      • 17. When You're Smiling
      • 18. Manha De Carnival
      • 19. There's A Small Hotel
      • 20. Lacuna