Night Hours

Jimmy Aldridge & Sid Goldsmith

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: FECD278

Release Date:  09 December 2016

Label:  Fellside

Packaging Type:  Digipak

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  5017116027826

Genres:  Folk  English Folk  

  • Description

    "Every now and then an act jumps out at you and knocks you back. You're in for a treat." - Mike Harding

    December 2016 sees the highly anticipated second release from Jimmy Aldridge and Sid Goldsmith. Over the last three years the duo have built a reputation on the UK folk scene for arresting and moving performances. There is an integrity that shines through their performances, where a sense of justice and morality underlie every song.

    Their new studio album 'Night Hours' is a powerful collection of songs that brings a new relevance to the traditional music of the British Isles and showcases some poignant compositions. The album links the hardship of working people throughout history with the struggles of marginalised communities today but it achieves it with a lightness and musicality that makes the album a joy to listen to.

    Through the course of the album the listener really gains a sense of two artists who not only have a passion for the music but also its ability to reflect on the world as they see it. The title track 'Night Hours', for example, explores the loneliness of night work in our cities and 'The Ballad of Yorkley Court' shines a light on a community finding themselves on the wrong side of power in the Forest of Dean. Even the traditional material that the duo have chosen seems to have a new relevance to the modern world. For example the 'Bonny Bunch of Roses', warning against the dangers of chasing the spoils of war, feels hugely poignant given the current instability in the world.

    They are joined on the album by James Gavin, Tommie Black-Roff and Dominic Henderson who play together as TEYR. These sparkling touches of fiddle, accordion, pipes and whistles give the album a driving energy.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Bridge
      • 2. Night Hours
      • 3. Harvest Gypsies
      • 4. Bonny Bunch Of Roses
      • 5. The Ballad Of Yorkley Court
      • 6. Shallow Brown/Jackie Tar
      • 7. Mary & The Soldier
      • 8. Willie O' The Winsbury
      • 9. Moved On
      • 10. The Grazier Tribe
      • 11. Along The Castlereagh
      • 12. Something Good