Bold Reynold Too

David Carroll

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: TECD493

Release Date:  12 July 2024

Label:  Talking Elephant

Packaging Type:  Digipak

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  5028479049325

Genres:  Folk  Folk-Rock  

  • Description

    Nowadays, fresh proponents of folk rock seem to prefer fiery delivery to vibrant depth of the pieces they perform, and it's a rare feat for them to explore the Stygian regions of a centuries-spun lore. However, David Carroll, an erstwhile member of SPINNING WHEEL who hasn't publicly practiced the art for decades, sticking instead to the luthier aspect of music industry, knew better when embarking on this project and inviting longtime fellow travelers for the ride. Those kindred spirits, tethered for years to FAIRPORT CONVENTION and GRYPHON, never ceased to be excited by the possibilities of delving into tradition, especially when there's no showcase to make out of tragedy inherent in familiar tunes, with filigree fed into songs per se rather than their perfunctory trappings. That's why "Bold Reynold" is so compelling without ever sounding flashy, the resulting gloomy tapestry stressing the ancient wisdom of every cut on offer.

    Bold Reynold Too is the follow up to David's debut Bold Reynold and once again features friends from the folk world including members of Gryphon and Fairport Convention

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Battle of Sowerby Bridge
      • 2. Gweebarra Shore
      • 3. Down Among The Dead Men
      • 4. Johnnie Jump Up
      • 5. Sheath and Knife
      • 6. A Little Of One wWith T'other
      • 7. Slieve Gallion Braes
      • 8. A Week Before Easter
      • 9. McShane
      • 10. Pace Egging Song
      • 11. The Keech in the Creel
      • 12. Adieu Sweet Lovely Nancy