In Concert

Benny Goodman Orchestra

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: SCCD36501

Release Date:  23 September 2022

Label:  SteepleChase

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  716043650125

Genres:  Jazz  Contemporary  

  • Description

    SteepleChase is proud to announce the inaugural release of their "In Concert" series of previously unissued live recordings from Falkoner Centret in Copenhagen, where numerous prominent American bands and soloists performed for the very appreciative audiences in the late '50s.

    The Swing King Benny Goodman (1909-86) toured Europe in 1959 with his 10-piece band featuring vibraphonist Red Norvo and adding vocalist Anita O'Day on two tracks. This well-attended concert is from October 17, 1959.

    Personnel: Benny Goodman (clarinet), Red Norvo (vibes), Russ Freeman (piano), Jimmy Wyble (guitar), Red Wooten (bass), John Markham (drums), Jack Sheldon (trumpet, vocals), Flip Phillips (tenor saxophone), Jerry Dodgeon (alto saxophone, flute), Bill Harris (trombone), Anita O'Day (vocals)

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Let's Dance
      • 2. Airmail Special
      • 3. Rachel's Dream
      • 4. Slipped Disc
      • 5. Memories Of You
      • 6. Get Happy
      • 7. Don't Get Around Much Anymore
      • 8. Ten Bone
      • 9. Raise The Riff
      • 10. Boogie Blues/Let Me Off Uptown
      • 11. Gotta Be This Or That
      • 12. Between The Devil And The Deep Blue Sea
      • 13. Go Margot Go
      • 14. Jam On The Breaks
      • 15. Marching
      • 16. Body And Soul
      • 17. After You're Gone