Sooner After Solstice - A Transatlantic Folk Christmas

A Winter Union

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: SGR201

Release Date:  10 November 2023

Label:  Sungrazing Records

Packaging Type:  Digipak

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  0793567102125

Genres:  Folk  Americana  

  • Description

    Five leading lights of the UK folk roots scene combine to make a seasonal record for the ages.

    Featuring members of Gilmore & Roberts, Hannah Sanders & Ben Savage and The Willows, it's no surprise that A Winter Union's Sooner After Solstice - A Transatlantic Folk Christmas showcases a band bursting with individual brilliance. Crucially though, A Winter Union produce a sound so much greater than the sum of their parts; this is a record full of the joy, passion and life - the magic captured between 5 friends in a room singing the seasonal music they love.

    The band give nods to both British and American seasonal folk traditions through a mixture of their own writing, re-imagined traditional songs and some carefully chosen covers from Townes Van Zandt to Jethro Tull to Graeme Miles.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Ring Out, Solstice Bells
      • 2. Minstrels
      • 3. Snowin' On Raton
      • 4. All Bells in Paradise
      • 5. White Christmas Somewhere
      • 6. Rise Up Shepherd
      • 7. Snows Of Winter
      • 8. Trees Of OId England
      • 9. Raise A Candle
      • 10. In The Bleak Midwinter
      • 11. Boxing Day
      • 12. I Saw Three Ships