Katerina Papadopoulou & Anastatica

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: S62620

Release Date:  07 May 2021

Label:  Saphrane

Packaging Type:  Slip Sleeve (CD or Vinyl)

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  8712618626207

Genres:  World Music  European  

  • Description

    'Anastasis' is an album by the great Greek singer Katerina Papadopoulou. 'Anastasis' is the Greek word for resurrection and depicts the theme of this CD: how Greek music travels, changes and stays alive. A beautiful album by a superb singer, accompanied by an excellent ensemble.

    The songs of this project depict an imaginary voyage of the Rose of Jericho through space and eras, in places of the Hellenism. The songs and tunes hail from Asia Minor, Aegean, Thrace, Macedonia, Pontos and South Italy. According to Katerina: 'It is music that we Greeks carry inside, without even knowing exactly the time of creation. Greek music travels and changes, transforms and persists and stays alive. It is not discovered, not revived. It is alive.'

    Dance is intertwined in a primordial coexistence and one can feel the groove and the power that triggers movement.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Rise
      • 2. On The Rosebush
      • 3. Old Grapevine/Ikariotikos Dance
      • 4. Syngathistos Dance - Milisso
      • 5. Thracian Table Songs
      • 6. Croon/Mary's Embroidery
      • 7. The Blue Hen-pigeon/The Bagpipe Dance
      • 8. Romana
      • 9. Yiannes And The Dragon
      • 10. Aspro E To Charti
      • 11. Tarantella
      • 12. Numi Numo Or Rose Of Jericho