Pretty Peggy

Sam Kelly & The Lost Boys

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD


Release Date:  06 October 2017

Label:  Navigator Records

Packaging Type:  Digipak

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  805520621021

Genres:  Folk  Singer Songwriter  

  • Description

    BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards Nominee 2018: Best Group. 'Pretty Peggy' is the eagerly anticipated dynamic new album from BBC Radio 2 Folk Award-winning Cornwall-based singer/songwriter/producer/multi-instrumentalist, Sam Kelly, with full band in tow and special guest appearances from Cara Dillon, Geoff Lakeman, Damien O'Kane and Michael McGoldrick.

    Sam's debut EP, 'Your Way Home' (2013), swiftly created a buzz of interest on the folk scene which he followed up with the widely acclaimed 'Spokes' EP in 2015. This cemented Sam's place further as one of the most exciting young prospects on the circuit - landing him a nomination in the Best Singer category at the prestigious 2015 Spiral Earth Awards and grabbing the attention of BBC Radio 2's Folk Show. Touring as a trio with Jamie Francis (banjo) and Evan Carson (percussion), Sam has gained a reputation for an incredibly high class and dynamic live show and the guys are rapidly becoming firm favourites at venues and festivals in all over the country.

    Not content to rest on his laurels, Sam enlisted the extraordinary talents of new band members Ciaran Algar (fiddle) and Graham Coe (cello) and went straight back into the studio to record his debut album. 'The Lost Boys' came out in 2015 to a storm of rave reviews, cementing Sam's place as folk's most rapidly rising stars and enticing Radio 2 to invite the guys into the BBC studios as the featured live session guests on the Mark Radcliffe Show - an honour usually only bestowed upon much more established musicians. The album also landed Sam the Horizon Award for emerging artists at the 2016 Radio 2 Folk Awards. The album has also been championed by numerous legends of folk broadcasting, including Mike Harding - who played tracks from the album for four weeks in a row on his online radio podcast.

    'Pretty Peggy' was recorded, engineered, produced and mixed by Sam Kelly & The Lost Boys with Ross-Rothero Bourge and Gareth Young.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Greenland Whale
      • 2. Bonny Lass of Fyvie
      • 3. Angeline the Baker
      • 4. When the Reivers Call
      • 5. If I Were a Blackbird
      • 6. The Shining Ship
      • 7. Chasing Shadows
      • 8. The Close Shave
      • 9. Shy Guy's Serve
      • 10. Crash on the Levee
      • 11. The Keeper
      • 12. The Rose