An Evening With John Renbourn & Jacqui Mcshee

John Renbourn & Jacqui McShee

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: FLED3111

Email me when this is available

Release Date:  11 October 2019

Label:  Fledg'ling

Packaging Type:  Digipak

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  5020393311120

Genres:  Folk  Celtic  

  • Description

    "Two of the greatest names in British folk-rock present an enchanting evening of acoustic music."

    From the earliest days of Pentangle, John and Jacqui would share infrequent duo gigs. An evening of music from these two friends would always be something very special. Although there were a couple of DVDs released twenty years or so ago, there has never been a live album to truly represent the subtle musical magic that would be conjured up during a performance by these two remarkable musicians.

    "…there was something about seeing these two friends together, sparking off each other with such ease, that created a safe space and welcomed you into that space with open arms. And at moments like these, their dry asides about getting old sounded like nothing more than that –the knowing self-deprecations of two musicians that could peel back the years in the time it takes to put on a capo." - brief extract from Pete Paphides sleeve notes.

    An evening with John Renbourn + Jacqui McShee has been carefully curated and engineered from John's archive of live recordings by Joel Renbourn.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. The Trees They Do Grow High
      • 2. My Johnny Was A Shoemaker
      • 3. I Can't Keep From Crying Sometimes
      • 4. Dark Islands / Great Dreams From Heaven
      • 5. The Nightingale
      • 6. Little Niles
      • 7. Lament For Owen Roe O'neill
      • 8. The Bonny Greenwoodside
      • 9. Come All Ye Tramps & Hawkers
      • 10. Kokomo
      • 11. Cruel Sister
      • 12. South Wind / The Blarney Pilgrim
      • 13. Turn Your Money Green