Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: SCD2657

Release Date:  27 February 2012

Label:  Sain

Packaging Type:  Digipak

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  5016886265728

Genres:  Folk  

  • Description

    Having stormed the festivals over recent years, Wales's raunchiest traditional music band release their new CD – 'Jonah', that brings a fresh, vibrant and contemporary sound to traditional Welsh music.

    Calan bring together the remarkable talents of 6 young musicians giving a fresh and vibrant sound to traditional Welsh music. With a contemporary and lively approach they breathe new life into the old traditions through their sparkling melodies, foot tapping tunes and spirited and energetic performances of Welsh step dancing. They blast their way through some of the old favourite reels, jigs and hornpipes with fast paced and uplifting arrangements before melting into some of the most beautiful and haunting songs.

    Following the release of their debut album, 'Bling' in 2008, which attracted four star responses from the critics, the five-piece have been playing to big audiences and rave reviews at concerts and festivals around Britain and Europe, including the coveted Cambridge Festival; Celtic Connections, Glasgow; Shrewsbury Folk Festival; Moseley Folk Festival; Derby Folk Festival; Bromyard Folk Festival, Whitby Folk Festival a concert tour of Italy, Austria and Belgium along with a number of performances at the Festival Interceltique de Lorient, Brittany, where they've received the award for the best group.

    The group, who've raised some eyebrows with a deliberate policy of eye-catching clothes and presentation, despite the ancient roots of their music, see themselves as a new generation of ambassadors, striving to take their new sound to new audiences, while raising the profile of Welsh traditional music on an international level. With their unique instrumental blend of accordion, fiddle, guitar, Welsh pipes, Welsh harp and the percussive sound of the Welsh clogs, Calan have certainly found their musical niche and their plan is to continue to delight audiences far and wide!

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Slip Jigs
      • 2. Picnic Pickwith
      • 3. Jonah
      • 4. Dawns Y Pelau (The Ball Dance)
      • 5. Y Gwydr Glas (The Window Pane)
      • 6. New Set
      • 7. Cân Y Dyn Doeth (The Wise Man's Song)
      • 8. Swansea Hosepipe Set
      • 9. Anybody Else But You
      • 10. The Dancing Stag
      • 11. Paid  Deud (Tell no one)
      • 12. Nyth Y Gog (The Cuckoo's Nest)
      • 13. Swansea Hosepipe Set (acoustic version)
      • 14. The Dancing Stag (acoustic version)