Deg | 10


Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: SCD2790

Format Details:

Release Date:  25 May 2018

Label:  Sain

Packaging Type:  Digipak

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  5016886279022

Genres:  Folk  Welsh Folk  

  • Description

    It's 10 years since Welsh folk band Calan released their debut album - Bling. It's fair to say that during those 10 years they've blasted their way through the old traditions giving a fresh and contemporary sound to traditional Welsh music.

    Credited for their sparkling melodies, foot tapping tunes and spirited and energetic performances of Welsh step dancing they've taken Welsh traditional music to international audiences.

    Following the release of their debut album, 'Bling' in 2008, which attracted four star responses from the critics, the five-piece have been playing to big audiences and rave reviews at concerts and festivals around Britain, USA, Australia and Europe, including the coveted Cambridge Festival; Celtic Connections, Glasgow; Shrewsbury Folk Festival; Moseley Folk Festival; Derby Folk Festival; Bromyard Folk Festival, Whitby Folk Festival a concert tour of Italy, Austria and Belgium along with a number of performances at the Festival Interceltique de Lorient, Brittany, where they've received the award for the best group. They've released three further studio albums - Jonah, Dinas and Solomon. This compilation Deg/10 is a combination of their favourite tracks along with 3 brand new songs (Last Song, Iron Town and Peth mawr ydi cariad - Love is a powerful thing), 2 live recordings and 2 brand new remixes of previous singles Apparition and Synnwyr Solomon. Calan are heading out on tour again this year - they'll be kicking off their 10/Deg tour in April … they're looking forward to see where the next 10 years takes them!

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Calan
      • 2. Blodau'r Flwyddyn
      • 3. Jonah
      • 4. New Set
      • 5. Swansea Hosepipe
      • 6. Tale Of Two Dragons
      • 7. Cariad Caerlyr
      • 8. Kân
      • 9. Big D
      • 10. Ryan Jigs
      • 11. Madam Fromage
      • 12. Last Song
      • 13. Iron Town
      • 14. Peth Mawr Ydi Cariad
      • 15. Deio I Dywyn (byw/live)
      • 16. Slip Jigs (byw/Live)
      • 17. Apparition (remix)
      • 18. Synnwyr Solomon (Remix)