Songs Of The Year

Threeway (Steve Waterman, Ben Crosland & Steve Lodder)

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: JCCD112

Release Date:  12 October 2009

Label:  Jazz Cat Records

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  5060110362189

Genres:  Jazz  Contemporary  

  • Description

    Second release from the highly accomplished chamber jazz trio Threeway. "This excellent band is as warm and inviting as any jazz lover could wish" - The Observer.

    Threeway brings together two of the UK's leading players with one of the North of England's most experienced composer/bandleaders. After leading his Quartet, Quintet and Octet for 15 years, Ben Crosland formed the trio in 2004 with his two long-term associates, Steve Waterman and Steve Lodder, in order to explore the open possibilities of a group without drums. The trio approaches improvisation in a subtle manner; the interplay between the players creates a natural intensity combined with an acute sensitivity to dynamics. 'Songs of the Year' - the follow-up to the group's 2005 debut album, 'Conversations' - features 12 original compositions written by Ben, and is a celebration of the English calendar and climate.

    Personnel: Steve Lodder (piano, keyboards), Ben Crosland (bas), Steve Waterman (trumpet, flugelhorn)

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Crystal Morning
      • 2. Frosty Night
      • 3. Cosy Fire
      • 4. Sunshine and Showers
      • 5. Renewal
      • 6. Lazy Heat
      • 7. The Harvest
      • 8. Wine Under The Stars
      • 9. Cats and Dogs
      • 10. Summer's End
      • 11. Autumn Dance
      • 12. Storm Warning
      • . Hymn for Christmas