W.a. Mozart: Horn Concertos

Sibylle Mahni; Andreas Spering; Brandenburger Symphoniker

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: PROSP0083

PRE-ORDER: This item will be shipped with the aim to deliver on release day.

Release Date:  19 April 2024

Label:  Prospero Classical

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  4262353970430

Genres:  Classical  Orchestral  

  • Description

    Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart wrote his horn concertos for Joseph Leitgeb (1732-1811), a good friend of the family who was often the target of Mozart's crude humor. They were written during his time as a freelance composer in Vienna and today form an essential part of the concert repertoire for horn. Here they are interpreted by Sibylle Mahni, Professor of Horn at the Hanns Eisler School of Music Berlin, and the Brandenburg Symphony Orchestra under the direction of Andreas Spering in a rousing, emotional and, above all, "historically informed" performance.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Hornkonzert No. 2 in E-Flat Major, KV 417: I. Allegro
      • 2. II. Andante
      • 3. III. Rondo. Allegro
      • 4. Hornkonzert No. 4 in E-Flat Major, KV 495: I. Allegro maestoso
      • 5. II. Romance. Andante cantabile
      • 6. III. Rondo. Allegro vivace
      • 7. Hornkonzert No. 3 in E-Flat Major, KV 447: I. Allegro
      • 8. II. Romance. Larghetto

      Disc 2

      • 1. III. Allegro
      • 2. Hornkonzert No. 1 in D Major, KV 412: I. Allegro
      • 3. II. Rondo. Allegro