Single Flame

Lucy Ward

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD


Release Date:  19 August 2013

Label:  Navigator Records

Packaging Type:  Slip Sleeve (CD or Vinyl)

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  805520620833

Genres:  Folk  English Folk  

  • Description

    For her much-anticipated second album (the follow up to the 2011 début Adelphi Has To Fly), the 23-year old singer, guitarist, ukulele and concertina player Lucy Ward delivers a finely tuned synthesis of original and traditionally arranged material. Production is again by Stu Hanna (of acclaimed folk duo Megson, both of whom also sing and play here). There, however, the similarities end as the new album - Single Flame - finds Lucy organically broadening her musical palette whilst remaining firmly rooted in a folk tradition that gives shape and form to her sound. Balancing the contemporary and the traditional is never an easy act to achieve but Lucy does it with a natural gift and flair. Her songwriting creates the kind of original songs that you think you've heard somewhere before ? on an old folk recording or the radio; a testament to the quality of her lyrics, melodies and 'hooks'. Collectively, the songs here showcase Lucy Ward's consummate performance and creative songwriting abilities, her genuine and sparkling personality and stunning voice. The new album Single Flame is a shining statement of how far her talent has grown and developed in such a short time.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. I Cannot Say I Will Not Speak
      • 2. Honey
      • 3. The Last Pirouette
      • 4. Icarus
      • 5. Velvet Sky
      • 6. Rites Of Man
      • 7. The Consequence
      • 8. Lord I Don't Want To Die In The Storm
      • 9. For the Dead Men
      • 10. Marching Through The Green Grass
      • 11. Ink
      • 12. Shellback