Letters Through Your Door

David Gibb

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: HAIRPIN005

Email me when this is available

Release Date:  06 October 2014

Label:  Hairpin Records

Packaging Type:  Digipak

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  0700461195788

Genres:  Childrens  Folk  

  • Description

    Award winning song writer and story teller releases album for children and parents alike! David Gibb is a young award winning song writer, story teller and tallest man in Derbyshire on a mission to create great music for children and families. At just 23 years old he's already had his music played on BBC Radios 1, 2, 3, 4 and 6, performed at Glastonbury Festival (amongst many others), played over 400 concerts, been nominated for a BBC Radio 2 Folk Award as part of the duo 'David Gibb & Elly Lucas', and won the highly commended prize at the Young Story Teller of the Year competition (2011). Frustrated at the lack of high quality music available for children, and inspired by the strong independent children's music movement in America, he set himself the mission of writing an album of songs aimed at families, with quality and musicianship being the focus. The result is 'Letters Through Your Door', a fun and exciting album and stage show packed full of catchy and toe tapping numbers. The album features original songs as well drawing on traditional children's song from across the world. This sublime mix is complemented by guest appearances from some of the biggest names on the British folk scene including Bella Hardy, Will Pound, Nancy Kerr, Jez Lowe and Lucy Ward. The themes range from the everyday to the surreal, but whether it's finding a dragon in your bedroom, dreaming about swimming in the sea, or simply waiting for the postman to arrive, there's something here for everyone!

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. From A To B
      • 2. There's A Dragon In My Bedroom
      • 3. He's A Navvy
      • 4. Sailing 123
      • 5. The Dog Doesn't Listen To Me
      • 6. Drop Peter Drop
      • 7. Landlocked
      • 8. Hush Little Baby
      • 9. Monkey See Monkey Dream
      • 10. Free Sailing
      • 11. Letters Through Your Door
      • 12. A Few Years Older
      • 13. Wiggle Your Way Towards Me