Adelphi Has To Fly

Lucy Ward

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD


Release Date:  13 June 2011

Label:  Navigator Records

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  5052442000839

Genres:  Folk  

  • Description

    Lucy Ward is a 21 year old singer-songwriter from Derby. She plays guitar but considers her voice to be her first instrument and has been performing regularly since she was 14. Her sets are an eclectic mix of traditional and modern folk interpretations, interspersed with her own songs. There is a natural and easy sound to her music that is brought to life by expressive performance and a breathtaking delivery. Lucy has the ability to still an audience with the strength and purity of her voice, which she uses to great effect on the unaccompanied songs that sprinkle her set. She is developing into a fine songwriter and a consummate performer who wows her audiences with her genuine, sparkling personality and a stunning voice. Reaching the Final of the Young Folk Awards in 2009, Lucy has subsequently played shows with many top artists in the genre, including Seth Lakeman, Chris Wood, Jim Moray, Tams & Coope, Phil Beer, Dave Swarbrick, Nancy Kerr & James Fagan, The Oysterband and O'Hooley & Tidow. She has also performed in her own right at festivals and clubs all over the UK. After playing at the likes of Priddy, Broadstairs and The Big Session she crowned the 2010 festival season with a stand-out performance to a capacity audience in the Sabrina Tent at Shrewsbury. A deal with Navigator Records was signed at the end of the year and her debut album recorded shortly thereafter. Produced by Stu Hanna (of Megson), it will be released in June 2011 during a period of frenzied touring activity.

    "One of Brit folk's most vibrant and forthright new young talents" --MOJO

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. The Fairy Boy
      • 2. Alice In The Bacon Box
      • 3. Maids When You're Young
      • 4. Death (Rock Me To Sleep)
      • 5. The Unfortunate Lass
      • 6. Julia
      • 7. The Two Sisters
      • 8. Adelphi
      • 9. F For Love
      • 10. A Stitch In Time
      • 11. Bricks & Love