Lady Maisery

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: RBRCD19

Release Date:  10 June 2013

Label:  Lady Maisery Records

Packaging Type:  Digipak

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  5051078929729

Genres:  Folk  

  • Description

    Highly anticipated new album from Lady Maisery. An ambitious album that challenges perspectives of what a harmony group can be; includes their version of Kate Bush's "This Woman's Work." "Mayday" is the bold and highly anticipated new album from Lady Maisery. Followup to their hit debut album 'Weave & Spin' (nominated best debut at the BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards, Album of the Week in The Independent). A daring collection of stories about different human struggles, 'Mayday' is a collection of songs that lament personal tragedies to expose a wider social injustice, revealing the determination of the human spirit and the persistence of life. A new maturity marks their muscular instrumental sound, lending new power to their arresting vocal delivery. Throughout the album, instruments are used to captivating effect, whether it is the raw, driving fiddle, the lyrical harp or lilting banjo. However, it is Lady Maisery's voices which are at the heart of this album, which demonstrates their remarkable ability to blend and sing as one. "Mayday" is an ambitious album that challenges perspectives of what a harmony singing group can be and proves that Lady Maisery can't be simply pigeon-holed as a harmony trio; they are a group that takes risks and pushes boundaries, and are a powerful force to be reckoned with on the folk scene

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. The Crow on the Cradle
      • 2. The False Young Man
      • 3. Palaces of Gold
      • 4. Katy Cruel
      • 5. Lady Maisry
      • 6. The Factory Girl
      • 7. Constant Billy; The Lie of the Land
      • 8. This Woman's Work
      • 9. The Lady and the Blacksmith
      • 10. Intro - The Grey Selkie
      • 11. The Grey Selkie
      • 12. Let No Man Steal Your Thyme