Seven For Lee / Green And Orange Night Park

Kevin Figes & You Are Here

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: 7"

Cat No: MOD006

Release Date:  04 August 2023

Label:  My Only Desire Records

Packaging Type:  Slip Sleeve (CD or Vinyl)

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  5052442023586

Genres:  Jazz  Contemporary  

  • Description

    Saxophonist/composer Kevin Figes and his group You Are Here present this homage to two inspirational British jazz musicians - Keith Tippett and Elton Dean - with newly minted recordings of a classic track from each, pressed on a limited edition 7". You Are Here grew out of a celebration of the life of the vital improvising pianist/composer Keith Tippett (1947-2020), with whom Kevin Figes recorded and performed. Made up of the finest players on the Bristol jazz scene, the band includes irrepressible drummer Tony Orrell (Paul Dunmall), Nostalgia 77 bassist Riaan Vosloo and Get the Blessing trumpeter Pete Judge.

    They have added the music of Figes' former teacher - and Soft Machine member - saxophonist/composer Elton Dean (1945-2006) to their repertoire and perform his groovy Township-jazz invoking composition "Seven for Lee", which sees Figes' soprano saxophone soaring over the loose-yet-funky rhythm section. The flip side takes you on cosmic jazz-rock journey through Tippett's wonderful "Green and Orange Night Park", with slow-building piano, percussion and horns gradually morphing into the mesmeric theme. The unhurried tempo helps to reveal the detail of the composition with Kevin's alto solo a stunning highlight.

    This is the first 7" in My Only Desire Records' Brit Jazz 45s series, which will see contemporary jazz acts record two '60s/'70s British jazz compositions apiece, presenting them afresh to new audiences.

    * Limited one-off pressing of 466 copies worldwide
    * 7" vinyl housed in a reverse-board picture sleeve
    * Mastered by and lacquer cut by Caspar Sutton-Jones @ Gearbox Studios

    Kevin Figes: soprano and alto saxophone
    Pete Judge: trumpet
    Raphael Clarkson: trombone
    Jim Blomfield: piano
    Riaan Vosloo: bass
    Tony Orrell: drums, percussion

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Seven for Lee

      Side 2

      • 2. Green and Orange Night Park