Just A Mortal Man

Jerry Lawson

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: RBRCD019

Release Date:  29 June 2015

Label:  Red Beet Records

Packaging Type:  Digipak

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  616892222743

Genres:  R&B  Rhythm and Blues  

  • Description

    Jerry Lawson, original lead singer and founding member of The Persuasions, releases his solo debut at age 71. At age 71, Jerry Lawson is finally releasing an album of music under his own name: a solo debut, titled Just a Mortal Man, to be released on East Nashville label Red Beet Records. With the help of Grammy-nominated producer Eric Brace, Lawson transforms a selection of new and classic songs with his astonishingly rich voice. Jerry makes the thirteen songs on Just a Mortal Man his own with elegance, heart, and soul - songs from a diverse group of writers including Paul Simon, Robert Hunter, Ayo, Phil Lee, Peter Cooper, and Brace. And he pays tribute to two of his heroes, recording tunes originally done by The Temptations' David Ruffin and Bobby "Blue" Bland. This is a chance for the world to hear one of the greatest singers ever, front and center, as he has never been heard before. While guest musicians like Jim Lauderdale and The McCrary Sisters also make appearances on Just a Mortal Man, the album is about Jerry, singing with a sweet and smoky voice that's only grown richer throughout his 71 years. Just a Mortal Man is a work of merit and consequence. It is Jerry Lawson's work of a lifetime.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Peace Like A River
      • 2. Time And Water
      • 3. I'm Just A Mortal Man
      • 4. Wine
      • 5. Never Been To Memphis
      • 6. In The Dark
      • 7. Down On My Knees
      • 8. Members Only
      • 9. I Hope That Love Always Knows Your Name
      • 10. Woman In White
      • 11. Once In A While
      • 12. Loving Arms
      • 13. I'll Come Running Back To You (live)