The Griot

Gaye Adegbalola

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: CDVTHTM2420

Email me when this is available

Release Date:  18 January 2019

Label:  Vizztone Label

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  614325814220

Genres:  Blues  

  • Description

    Gaye Adegbalola The Griot Blurb With THE GRIOT (gree-oh), GAYE ADEGBALOLA serves up topical blues for topical times. Like the storytelling griots of West Africa, she is the living archive of oral history, the seed-sower, the now-knower, the entertainer, the unchainer. In song stories like (Youre) Flint Water and I've been Kaepernicked! THE GRIOT tackles themes of hypocrisy, sexism, poverty, pollution, love, vanity, freedom and betrayal, all wrapped in Gayes trademark wit and wisdom. Gaye has performed all over the world individually, in duos and bands, and as a founding member of the group SaffireThe Uppity Blues Women, who ended their glorious 25-year run in 2009. She is a mother, a Blues Music Award (BMA) winner and former Virginia State Teacher of the Year. Now 74, she sees her lifes work as a contemporary griot - keeping the history alive, delivering messages of empowerment, and finding joy in the mundane.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Nothing's Changed
      • 2. The Griot
      • 3. Liearrhea
      • 4. Fgm (Female Genital Mutilation)
      • 5. Dirty Sheets
      • 6. (You're) Flint Water
      • 7. Kaepernicked
      • 8. Ain't Technology Grand?
      • 9. Gon' Be Alright
      • 10. Don't Criticize Me
      • 11. Nothing Left
      • 12. (There Is Always) One More Time
      • 13. Need A Little Sugar In My Bowl
      • 14. Tea Cake Kind Of Love
      • 15. 3 Hour Shoes (Stylin' For The Lord)
      • 16. Sorry
      • 17. But… No Shame
      • . Jelly Bean Blues