A Thousand Kisses Deep

Christine Tobin

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: TBR03

Release Date:  17 March 2014

Label:  Trail Belle Records

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  5016700136623

Genres:  Jazz  Vocal Jazz  

  • Description

    'A Thousand Kisses Deep' is a beautiful re-working of eleven Leonard Cohen songs and is the acclaimed vocalist Christine Tobin's salute to the legendary singer, songwriter and poet in the year of his 80th birthday.

    The songs chosen are from Cohen's 1960s albums through to his 2001 release 'Ten New Songs'. Christine was first drawn to Cohen at the age of ten after hearing "You Know Who I Am" and despite her tender years, she immediately fell under the spell of his hypnotic tone. In her own songwriting, Christine Tobin specialises in idiosyncratic, highly musical poetic vignettes with a strong sense of story, so it's no surprise she weaves such magic with the profound, sensual and mysterious songs of Cohen.

    The Irish-born, UK-based singer-songwriter and composer, has carved out a niche for herself as one of the UK's most richly expressive and original voices. A series of sublime albums have showcased her poetic original material and compelling rich voice. In 2008 she was named Best Vocalist at the BBC Jazz Awards and 'Tapestry Unravelled' (2010) received rave reviews and drew attention to her outstanding ability as interpreter. In 2012 she won a British Composer Award for 'Sailing to Byzantium', her settings of poems by W.B. Yeats. Her show 'A Thousand Kisses Deep' won a prestigious Herald Angel Award at the 2013 Edinburgh Fringe Festival.

    "Christine Tobin is inspiring on her own material. But she is in a class of her own singing Leonard Cohen." - The Guardian

    Personnel: Christine Tobin (vocals), Phil Robson (guitars), Huw Warren (accordion), Dave Whitford (double bass), Adriano Adewale (percussion), Special guests: Gwilym Simcock (piano), Nick Smart (trumpet)

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Famous Blue Raincoat
      • 2. Hey That's No Way to Say Goodbye
      • 3. Tower of Song
      • 4. Take This Waltz
      • 5. Suzanne
      • 6. Anthem
      • 7. You Know Who I Am
      • 8. A Thousand Kisses Deep
      • 9. Everybody Knows
      • 10. Story of Isaac
      • 11. Dance Me to the End of Love