Christine Tobin

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: TBR04

Release Date:  25 November 2016

Label:  Trail Belle Records

Packaging Type:  Digipak

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  5016700140224

Genres:  Jazz  Rock  

  • Description

    Irish-born, singer-songwriter and composer, Christine Tobin is now based in New York, having been an integral part of the London scene for many years. 'Pelt' is Christine's settings of poems and lyrics by contemporary Pulitzer Prize winning poet, Paul Muldoon.

    Although a continuation of her alchemy with fine words and music and her exploration of the chemistry between the two (previous albums have explored the work of Leonard Cohen, W.B. Yeats and Carole King), 'Pelt' marks a new direction and a new musical soundscape. The album is both daring and dreamlike, passionate and playful. Tobin leads her musicians across a kaleidoscopic panorama, sometimes as junkyard blues philosopher, or snappy beat seductress, sometimes as a conduit for exquisite zen-like harmonies, or reflective Americana. The result is a rich and engaging collection with Tobin's trademark originality.

    The band comprises a team of considerable musicianship that provide a sensitive and responsive soundworld. The line-up is; Richard Jones (violin), Kate Shortt (cello), Gareth Lockrane (flutes), Phil Robson (guitars), Liam Noble (piano, prepared piano and Rhodes), Dave Whitford (double bass),
    Simon Lea and Lorraine Baker (drums).

    "One of Britain's most brilliant and creative artists…she challenges her artistry, vocally, musically and lyrically all the time". - Julian Joseph, Jazz Line-Up, BBC Radio 3

    "A talented composer as well as a glorious interpretative singer with a fabulously alluring voice. A songwriter as well as a daring, sexy-timbred jazz singer.." - Rob Adams, The Herald, Scotland

    "One of the most gifted and original singer/songwriters in today's jazz world". - BBC Music Magazine

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Zoological Positivism Blues
      • 2. Wind and Tree
      • 3. San Simeon
      • 4. After Me
      • 5. Promises Promises
      • 6. Longbones
      • 7. The Big House
      • 8. Pelt
      • 9. I'd Know You Anywhere
      • 10. Big Idea
      • 11. Horses
      • 12. Pelt (reprise)