Various Composers

A Place Between

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: LCMS901

Release Date:  20 July 2009

Label:  Louth Contemporary Music

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  837654335246

Genres:  Classical  

  • Description

    World première recordings of works by John Tavener, Arvo Pärt, Valentin Silvestrov and Alexander Knaifel sit alongside pieces by Henryk Górecki and John Cage on the first recording from a new Irish label operated by noted concert promoters Louth Contemporary Music Society. All of these very popular contemporary composers have in various ways been deeply influenced by profound spiritual, religious or cultural encounters, and the disc celebrates them in a moving, magical programme.

    'A Place Between' intersperses - to wonderful effect - beautiful works for string quartet (Silvestrov's meditative Ikon, Tavener's deeply moving Ikon of Joy/Sorrow, Pärt's reflective Da Pacem Domine) with two solo piano works (Pärt's uplifting Hymn to a Great City, and Cage's melodic and expressive In a Landscape). Górecki's memorial for Michael Vyner, Good Night and Knaifel's mystical O Heavenly King both feature the haunting voice of soprano Patricia Rozario. Silvestrov's 25.X.1893 lullaby is a melancholic and lyrical piece for violin and piano.

    Besides the renowned soprano Patricia Rozario, the other artists - all Irish - are the Callino Quartet, pianist Michael McHale (winner of the Terence Judd/Hallé Award 2009), violinist Ioana Petcu-Colan, flautist Vourneen Ryan and percussionist Stephen Kelly. Recorded in the acoustically superb historic setting of St. Peter's Church of Ireland in Drogheda, the mixing, mastering and editing were carried out in the state-of-the-art Rainbow Studios in Oslo.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Ikon of Joy/Sorrow
      • 2. Hymn to a Great City
      • 3. O Heavenly King
      • 4. Ikon
      • 5. 25 X 1893 in Memoriam P. I. Tch, a Memorial to Tchaikovs
      • 6. Da Pacem Domine
      • 7. Good Night, Op. 63: I Lento (Adagio)-Tranquillo
      • 8. Good Night, Op. 63: II. Lento Tranquillissimo-Cantabalissimo
      • 9. Good Night, Op. 63: III. Lento-Largo: Dolcissimo-Cantabalissimo
      • 10. In a Landscape