The Old Swan Band

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: WGS434CD

Release Date:  06 December 2019

Label:  Wild Goose

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  5016700119374

Genres:  Folk  English Folk  

  • Description

    Fortyfived is a collection of dance tunes having roots in Ireland, America, Scotland, Sweden, Denmark, Quebec, Australia, Germany and of course the band's home country – England. Carefully amassed to celebrate the band's 45th year, it is a collection delivered in the inimitable style that the band has developed over decades of being at the forefront of 'English' folk dance music.

    Over that time we've discovered that some of the 'English' music we play actually comes from somewhere else and conversely, some of the music from elsewhere that we've adopted started out in the publishing houses of London. The oft quoted Music knows no boundaries is a phrase which The Old Swan Band continually abides by.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Going to the Well for Water/ Kings of Kerry
      • 2. Dancing Dustman/ Louis James Quadrille
      • 3. Bälter Svens Paradpolkett
      • 4. The Mudgee and Rocking Schottisches
      • 5. Jimmy Duffy's Barn Dance Nos 1 & 2
      • 6. The Swedish Waltz/ Stan Treacy's Very Particular Waltz
      • 7. Little Red Wagon/ Art Wooten's Quadrille
      • 8. Tyskan/ Stjuls pÃ¥ Källhagen
      • 9. Quadrille de le fin de l'an/Partie de Lanciers
      • 10. Sonny's Mazurka/ Druttjinkeilleitjen/Andrea's Swedish Mazurka
      • 11. Batt Henry's Barn Dance
      • 12. Moss-trooper's Polka/Billy Ballantine's Reel
      • 13. Road To The North/ Travellers' Joy
      • 14. Little Diamond/The Tournemore Polka/The Maids of Ardagh