An Outbreak Of Cats - Tunes By Derek Shaw

Becky Price and Friends

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: WGS446CD

Release Date:  29 March 2024

Label:  Wild Goose

Packaging Type:  Brilliant Case (Jewel Case size, Holds 2 CDs)

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  5016700119541

Genres:  Folk  Instrumental  

  • Description

    This is an album of new Folk Dance/Social Dance tunes written by Derek Shaw and played by some wonderful musicians, namely Becky Price (piano accordion and piano), Richard Heacock (violin and viola), Matt Coatsworth (violin) and Richard Cox-smith (slide guitar). Derek writes tunes in many different styles and this album has both English and European style, waltzes, jigs, mazurkas, marches, hornpipes and even one lament. The tunes were chosen and arranged by Becky Price from Derek's published tune book, 'The Lockkeeper' which contains 90 of his new folk tunes.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Sarah's Birthday Waltz/Julia's Birthday Waltz
      • 2. Goldborough Chromatic Hornpipe/Halnaker Hop
      • 3. Outbreak of Cats/Landrace/Bookworms Jig
      • 4. Nemesia/Summer Breeze
      • 5. Les Glycines
      • 6. Smile on My Face/Faccombe Hornpipe
      • 7. Newton St Loe Mazurka/Mrs Muttlebury's Marines' Mazurka
      • 8. March of St Michael/Annabelle the Cannibal
      • 9. Lazy J Waltz /Morning Mazurka
      • 10. Half Past Eight/Guilty Rabbit
      • 11. Butterdish/Lottie Dodds/Elephant Jig
      • 12. Burnham Waltz/Five Bells Waltz
      • 13. Arrochar Jig/Bearwood Jig
      • 14. Lament for William Mcgruer and Delia Elise Fraser