Burning Bright

Pete Cooper & Richard Bolton

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: WGS445CD

Release Date:  01 March 2024

Label:  Wild Goose

Packaging Type:  Brilliant Case (Jewel Case size, Holds 2 CDs)

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  5016700119534

Genres:  Folk  World Music  

  • Description

    Pete Cooper (fiddle, voice) and Richard Bolton (guitar, 7-string guitar, cello, voice) have been performing and recording contemporary acoustic roots music as a duo for nearly a quarter of a century. They are joined by Raph Mizraki (percussion, bass) for three of the thirteen tracks.

    Jenny Coxon, of English Folk Dance & Song magazine, wrote of a previous album - 'Two superbly innovative musicians at the height of their craft; communicating their love of the material they choose to play, while continuing to explore and develop their repertoire and range. Straightforward traditional English, classical, jazz, blues, world roots: all these performing styles are skilfully utilised, but not at the expense of communicating and sharing the intrinsic qualities of each piece.…Do not miss this superb album.'

    For Burning Bright, Pete sings William Blake's poem 'London', in a setting by his Rattle on the Stovepipe bandmate Dave Arthur, and Richard joins him on 1920s vaudeville folk song, 'Willie the Weeper', but their set is mainly instrumental. As on the duo's previous releases it is rooted in traditional British Isles dance music - tunes here are from Somerset, Derbyshire, north Yorkshire and both sides of the Scottish/Northumbrian border, with source fiddlers including James Higgins (1819-1910) and Willie Taylor (1916-2000). 'Burning Bright' also features excursions abroad into styles Pete has studied, taught at the London Fiddle School and shared in his numerous publications. Here he and Richard play brigands' dances from southern Poland, an Appalachian tune from Virginia, three wild Bulgarian ruchenitsas and Brazilian choro classic Tico-Tico no Fubá, as well as Richard's composition Acton Township. Their eclecticism even extends to a folk interpretation for fiddle and guitar of the famous Allegro by classical composer Joseph-Hector Fiocco.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Shepton Mallet/ Radstock Jig
      • 2. Dene & Pearl
      • 3. Coilsfield House/ Cropie's Strathspey
      • 4. Bavno Pomashko/ Rucenitsas
      • 5. London
      • 6. Wm. Pitt/ Willie Is A Bonny Lad
      • 7. Acton Township
      • 8. Brigands' Dances
      • 9. Wille the Weeper
      • 10. Harper's Frolic/ Bonnie Kate
      • 11. Fiocco's Allegro
      • 12. Cuffey
      • 13. Tico Tico