Hindemith: Works For Viola And Piano

Maria Shetty, Monika Wilinska-Tarcholik

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: DUX2074

PRE-ORDER: This item will be shipped with the aim to deliver on release day.

Release Date:  12 July 2024

Label:  DUX Recording Producers

Packaging Type:  Digipak

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  5902547020747

Genres:  Classical  

  • Description

    "I want to see if I can extend the expressive possibilities and expand the horizon of the genre - which, in this genre, are not all that great and not all that wide - in a series of these pieces". Paul Hindemith's oeuvre devoted to the viola figures is among the most valuable literature scored for this instrument and, as far as compositions written in the 20th century are concerned, the most significant. These works are distinguished by, among other things, originality and stylistic diversity. Compositions for solo viola and with piano accompaniment are the most numerous among Hindemith's works.

    Violist Maria Shetty and pianist Monika Wilinska-Tarcholik present this new release on the DUX label.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Paul Hindemith: Sonate for viola and piano, Op. 11 No. 4: I. Fantasie
      • 2. II. Thema mit Variationen
      • 3. III. Finale (mit Variationen)
      • 4. Sonate for viola solo, Op. 25 No. 1: I. Breit. Viertel
      • 5. II. Sehr frisch und straff. (Viertel)
      • 6. III. Sehr langsam
      • 7. IV. Rasendes ZeitmaA. Wild. TonschAsnheit ist
      • 8. V. Langsam, mit viel Ausdruck
      • 9. Sonate for viola and piano, Op.25 No. 4: I. Sehr lebhaft. Markiert und kraftvoll
      • 10. II. Sehr langsame Viertel
      • 11. III. Finale. Lebhafte Viertel