Mel Bonis: Entre Soir Et Matin

Sandrine Cantoreggi & Sheila Arnold

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: 2CD

Cat No: AVI8553534

Release Date:  01 December 2023

Label:  C-Avi

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  2

Barcode:  4260085535347

Genres:  Classical  

  • Description

    A late discovery of a most important female composer from France for the musical world. Melanie Helene Bonis, known by her artistic pseudonym Mel Bonis (21 January 1858 - 18 March 1937), was a Romantic composer in the late years of the 19th century and first half of the 20th century.

    Her ouevre includes more than 300 pieces: music for piano, chamber music in various formats, organ pieces, Lieder, choral music, a mass, and works for orchestra. Her teachers at the Paris Conservatoire included Cesar Franck, Ernest Guiraud and Auguste Bazille.

    To her contemporaries surprise, Mel Bonis succeeded in the Paris society and was well regarded by her male composer fellows Camille Saint-Saens, her fellow student Claude Debussy and others. Some of her works have been officially published.

    Sheila Arnold and Sandrine Cantoreggi initiated this album and discovered not only a piece - Soir - never played or was registered before, but kept her choice also mainly to their own instruments Violin and Fortepiano (on a Bluethner Fortepiano 1871). Two Trios (one with Cello, the other with flute) embrace the program of small short pieces for Violin and Fortepiano, highlighting in particular the larger Violin Sonata, Op. 112.

    "Music speaks to me about what I want, but then it withholds it. It kindles my desires and makes me feel the futility of everything on this earth. Oh! Words are so empty when they try to express all of these things! It's such a horrible longing." (Mel Bonis)

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Soir, for Piano Trio, Op. unknown (World Premiere Recording)
      • 2. Suite for Violin and Piano, Op. 114 (1926) 1. Jour de fete - Modere
      • 3. 2. Sous la ramee - Poco lento
      • 4. 3. Cortege champetre - Allegro non troppo
      • 5. Three Pieces for (1910) 1. Andante religioso - Sostenuto (a Mademoiselle Sophie Bardot)
      • 6. 2. Allegretto - Allegretto non troppo (a Monsieur Raphael Kellert)
      • 7. 3. Largo - (a Monsieur Paulin Gaillard)
      • 8. Suite Orientale for Piano Trio, Op. 48 (1900)1. Prelude
      • 9. 2. Danse d'Almees
      • 10. 3. Ronde de Nuit

      Disc 2

      • 1. Suite for Flute, Violin and Piano, Op. 59 (1903) 1. Serenade - Allegretto (a Monsieur L.C. Malherbe)
      • 2. 2. Pastorale - Andantino comodo
      • 3. 3. Scherzo - Allegro con moto
      • 4. Sonata for Violin and Piano in F sharp Minor, Op. 112 (ca. 1922) I. Moderato
      • 5. II. Presto
      • 6. III. Lento
      • 7. IV. Con moto
      • 8. Serenade for Violin and Piano, Op. 46 (1910) Allegretto - a Mademoiselle Marguerite Chaigneau
      • 9. Soir - Matin for Piano Trio, Op. 76 (1907) Soir - Andante cantabile (a Mademoiselle Foltzer)
      • 10. Soir - Matin for Piano Trio, Op. 76 (1907) Matin - Andantino (au Trio Chaigneau)