Serenade For Clarinet & Strings: Krenek, Gal, Penderecki

Kilian Herold, Barbara Buntrock, Florian Donderer, Tanja Tetzlaff

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: AVI8553537

PRE-ORDER: This item will be shipped with the aim to deliver on release day.

Release Date:  21 June 2024

Label:  C-Avi

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  4260085535378

Genres:  Classical  Chamber Music  

  • Description

    All three works of this album are from the neo classicistic period with the early Serenade by Krenek being a world premiere recording.

    The century was only twenty-one years old, and so was Ernst Krenek, when his Serenade opus 4 was premiered on 31 July 1921 at the newly launched "Donaueschingen Chamber Music Performances for the advancement of contemporary music." The event soon came to be known as Donaueschingen Festival, now one of the oldest specialized music festivals worldwide: Krenek's music has occasionally been heard there since then - albeit as a series of utterly contrasting works one would hardly ascribe to the same composer.

    Such variety comes from Krenek's chameleon-like capacity of metamorphosis, of which he was well aware. He accepted that he came off "badly compared with the great masters of the past, whose work presents itself to us as a well-rounded, logically organized unit." We can already sense something of Krenek's bewildering stylistic diversity in his 1919 Serenade. At first sight, it seems to cling stubbornly to the style of Krenek's teacher, Franz Schreker, and to Viennese Late Romanticism. It contains a whiff of Hugo Wolf's Italian Serenade....

    Hans Gal, under threat as a Jew in Germany and, from 1938, also in his native country of Austria, found refuge in the United Kingdom - although initially only as an intern in a camp, as he would vividly describe in his book "Musik behind Barbed Wire." Hans Gal's style remained rooted in the Vienna tradition of the "long" 19th century.....

    Krzysztof Penderecki, on the other hand, was both a traditionalist and a trailblazer. In 1959, he entered the Polish Composer Society youth competition with three anonymous works that won 1st, 2nd, and 3rd prizes, thus unmistakably proving his rank as one of his country's outstanding musical talents.....Penderecki composed his Clarinet Quartet, which exists in a further version for string orchestra, entitled Sinfonietta No. 2. Here we are dealing with a tranquil, subdued work that almost ventures into Schubertian confines, featuring a tender nocturnal dialogue between the clarinet and the viola as the first movement's point of departure

    "the Scherzo and the Serenade, are captivating, and while the Krenek Serenade may be a pleasant discovery for many listeners, this recording of Penderecki's Clarinet Quartet is the real highlight of this production." – Pizzicato *****

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Krenek: Serenade for Clarinet, Violin, Viola and Cello, Op. 4 (1919) - No. 1 Moderato
      • 2. No. 2 Adagio ma non troppo
      • 3. No. 3 Allegro molto
      • 4. No. 4 Langsamer
      • 5. No. 5 Allegretto grazioso
      • 6. No. 6 Allegro vivace
      • 7. Gal: Serenade for Clarinet, Violin and Cello, Op. 93 (1937) - No. 1 Cantabile. Moderato
      • 8. No. 2 Burletta. Vivace ma non troppo
      • 9. No. 3 Intermezzo. Andantino
      • 10. No. 4 Giocoso. Allegro molto moderato
      • 11. Penderecki: Quartet for Clarinet, Violin, Viola and Cello (1993) - I. Notturno
      • 12. II. Scherzo
      • 13. III. Serenade
      • 14. IV. Abschied