Maasai Hip Hop

X Plastaz

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: OH002
Only 1 left!

Release Date:  15 May 2006

Label:  Out Here

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  880918004327

Genres:  World Music  

  • Description

    X Plastaz have created a unique style of hip hop emerging from Tanzania, East Africa.

    Their mix of hip hop with local melodies and Swahili lyrics, sometimes called Bongo Flava, has quickly become East Afica's number one selling pop music.

    The group consists of three emcees, two young rappers and a Maasai singer.

    Coming from a poor area of Arusha, a city in northern Tanzania they sing about what it means to be young and African.

    Their sound brings together local Maasai acappella chants with rapping in Swahili & Haya.

    X Plastaz and their album Massai Hip Hop set out to introduce their version of this new Tanzanian sound to the rest of the world.

  • Tracklisting

    1. Dunia Dudmizi
    2. Msimu Kwa Msimu
    3. Wachaga Piga Chata
    4. Ushanta
    5. Kutesa Kwa Zamu
    6. Aha!
    7. Kusanyikeni
    8. Haleluya
    9. Not Ready
    10. Bamiza
    11. Kitita
    12. Shika Lako
    13. Nini Dhambi Kwa Mwenye Dhiki?