Ballads Of Sacco And Vanzetti

Woody Guthrie

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: SFW40060

Release Date:  20 February 1996

Label:  Smithsonian Folkways

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  093074006023

Genres:  Folk  

  • Description

    Woody Guthrie was one of the twentieth century's greatest poets and songwriters, and his songs about Sacco and Vanzetti include some of his best songs. The murder trial of Sacco and Vanzetti was one of this century's most controversial. Sacco and Vanzetti's story was dramatic; their front-page trial was filled with dubious procedures; and the years of appeals and their eventual execution led to protests around the world. These songs, written and recorded nearly twenty years later, have been carefully remastered from the original acetate discs and are presented with a previously unpublished letter by Guthrie to the judge in the case. Produced by Moses Asch. Reissue compiled by Anthony Seeger and Jeff Place.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. The Flood And The Storm
      • 2. Two Good Men
      • 3. I Just Want To Sing Your Name
      • 4. Red Wine
      • 5. Suassos Lane
      • 6. You Souls Of Boston
      • 7. Old Judge Thayer
      • 8. Vanzetti's Rock
      • 9. Vanzetti's Letter
      • 10. Root Hog And Die
      • 11. We Welcome To Heaven
      • 12. Sacco's Letter To His Son