With A Little Help From My Friends

Volker Kriegel

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: MIG80192

Release Date:  13 May 2013

Label:  Art Of Groove

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  885513801920

Genres:  Jazz  Contemporary  

  • Description

    Guitarist Volker Kriegel was one of Europe's finest jazz-rock guitarists and is still remembered for his tasteful contributions to recordings by vibraphonist Dave Pike and the United Jazz and Rock Ensemble. 'With a Little Help from My Friends' was his first studio album and was recorded in 1968 in two sessions including four tracks produced by Passport's Klaus Doldinger. The recordings have been unavailable for over forty years and are available on (digitally remastered) CD for the first time.

    Originally only thirty-two minutes long, the album reflects its era by including two Lennon & McCartney songs and is now enhanced by nearly fifty minutes of bonus material from the same year. This includes superb live performances from Hamburg's Jazzhouse and Frankfurt's 11th Deutsches Jazz Festival where, on one track, Kriegel's quartet is joined by American clarinettist (and sometime World Music pioneer) Tony Scott to superb effect.

    Personnel: Volker Kriegel (guitar), Gustl Mayer (tenor saxophone), Tony Scott (clarinet), Claudio Szenkar (vibraphone), Günter Lenz, Peter Trunk (bass), Günter Hermkes (bass), Cees See, Peter Baumeister, Ralf Hübner (drums)

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. With a Little Help from My Friends
      • 2. Blues for Instance
      • 3. Norwegian Wood
      • 4. Traffic Jam
      • 5. Morandi
      • 6. Na Na Imboro
      • 7. Interpunctuation
      • 8. Teaming Up
      • 9. Vian-De
      • 10. Spanish Soul
      • 11. Na Na Imboro
      • 12. Nina's Dance (with Tony Scott)
      • 13. Interpunctuation
      • 14. Na Na Imboro