No Format! Remixed (2004-2024)

Various Artists

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: LP

Cat No: NOF62LP

PRE-ORDER: This item will be shipped with the aim to deliver on release day.

Release Date:  20 September 2024

Label:  No Format

Packaging Type:  Gate Fold Vinyl

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  3663729310729

Genres:  Electronic  

  • Description

    For the past 20 years, NO FORMAT! has been cultivating the idea of an artisanal and homemade label, supporting artists who stand out with unexpected projects. Its motto, 'You never know in advance what you'll fall in love with", has guided its direction from the outset.Its high standards on the quality of the sound has become its trademark, while one of the mainstays of its work is the development of collaborations between artists from diverse backgrounds.

    For its 20th anniversary, anew guard of electronically-inspired artists takes over the NO FORMAT catalog for an original remix album, specially created for the occasion. 10 iconic tracks from the label are reimagined by 10 young, talented, emerging and/or established producers, carefully chosen on each track. While Pan-African trio Toto Bona Lokua's music is reworked by British-Ghanaian afro-bass pioneer Hagan, South African vocal duo Msaki x Tubatsi is reimagined through a remix by amapiano heavy-weight Vigro Deep. Blick Bassy's delicate Cameroon folk turns into an afro-club anthem produced by Moonshine collective leading figure Vanyfox ; Haitian-American neo-jazz artist Melanie Charles electrifies "Kouzen" by Haitian Canadian singer-songwriter Melissa Laveaux ; renowned sound artist Sofie Birch transforms Koki Nakano's delicate piano into an ambient soundscape.Japanese house pioneer Shinichiro Yokota gives a new spin on electro-jazz collective Asynchrone, which was inspired by Ryuichi Sakamoto's work.

    'NO FORMAT! Remixed (2004-2024)' is both a celebration of 20 years of music and creation, bringing this beautiful and curated catalog into a vibrant and festive compilation, and a step towards the label's next 20 years.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Melissa Laveaux - Kouzen (Melanie Charles Remix)
      • 2. Msaki x Tubatsi - Zibonakalise (Vigro Deep Remix)
      • 3. Mamani Keita - Nenibali (Catu Diosis Remix)
      • 4. Gerald Toto, Richard Bona, Lokua Kanza - Youwile (Hagan Remix)

      Side 2

      • 1. Que Vola ? - Iyesa (KEENE Remix)
      • 2. Lucas Santtana - Ninguem solta a mao de ninguem (Luana Flores Remix)
      • 3. Koki Nakano - Mue (Sofie Birch Remix)
      • 4. Blick Bassy - Woni (Vanyfox Remix)
      • 5. Asynchrone - Plastic Bamboo (Shinichiro Yokota Remix)