Just A Bad Dream: Sixty British Garage & Trash Nuggets (1981-1989)

Various Artists

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: 3CD


Release Date:  16 November 2018

Label:  Cherry Red

Packaging Type:  Clamshell

No of Units:  3

Barcode:  5013929106307

Genres:  Rock  

  • Description

    3CD set charting the UK's 1980s Garage Rock revival, otherwise known as Trash..All of the key players! Including Thee Milkshakes, The Sting-Rays, The Cannibals, The Prisoners, The Barracudas, The X-Men, The Tall Boys, The Jesus And Mary Chain, The Meteors, The X-Men, The Playn Jayn and many, many more..Sixty of the finest must-have scene hits, lesser known deep cuts and underexposed nuggets..Produced in association with The Sting-Rays' Alec Palao."I was there" sleevenotes from Mike Spenser, Lenny Helsing and Vic Templar..Remarkable 'comic book' design and packaging makes this a must-see, must-hear, must-have set!.Sometimes, a disparate crowd of random influences and a handful of scene-makers coalesce out of nothing, and before you know it a movement is happening. So it was in the UK in the early-to-mid-'80s, when an unlikely set of bands resurrected the spirit of mid-'60s Garage Rock. .Fusing that sound with elements of the pre-Fab Four, Psych, Mod, Rockabilly and Psychobilly, and greasing the wheels of this new machine with a thick slab of post-punk sensibility, bands across the UK began to shout and holler like they hadn't in years, capturing their work on often rough and ready recordings, issued on Big Beat, Hangman, Hit Records, Media Burn, Creation and other equally fried labels. From London, Medway and the South East to Edinburgh and beyond, the Trash movement spread, quickly reaching out into mainland Europe and beyond. Here in the UK, Trash finally enjoyed its moment in the sunshine in 1984, when four of the scene's key bands appeared on Channel 4's flagship music show The Tube. .Spiky, brash, loud and unfettered by delusions of grandeur, this is the sound of the post punk UK music scene looking backwards whilst moving forwards. Not for the faint-hearted, sure, and always likely to tell you where you can stick it, but this is a sound that has stuck. The garage and trash scene, albeit under different names and sprinkled with a layer of post-Millennial self-awareness, continues to grow.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Little By Little
      • 2. Submarine Song
      • 3. Next Time Around
      • 4. June Rhyme
      • 5. Hup Two Three Four
      • 6. What I Want
      • 7. Just A Bad Dream
      • 8. A Glimpse
      • 9. Writhing On The Shagpile
      • 10. Go Gorilla
      • 11. I Hear Noises
      • 12. The Whole World Is Turning Brouchard!
      • 13. Drive Me Wild
      • 14. Get What I Can
      • 15. Little Miss Misfit
      • 16. Dirty Jean
      • 17. 125
      • 18. Stroll On
      • 19. Mr Unreliable
      • 20. Just Call Me Sky

      Disc 2

      • 1. You Can't Polish A Turd
      • 2. Munsters Theme
      • 3. Vegetable Man
      • 4. Ride This Torpedo
      • 5. Don't Let Her Dark Your Door
      • 6. The Crusher
      • 7. Talk
      • 8. I Want That Girl
      • 9. I Don't Care
      • 10. Swamp Thing
      • 11. What's Happening
      • 12. And In England They're Going Mental
      • 13. Livin' In My Own Nightmare
      • 14. Fever In My Pocket
      • 15. Nervous Breakdown
      • 16. I Know You Lied
      • 17. One More Letter
      • 18. Waiting Nation
      • 19. The Dead
      • 20. Young Blood (Live)

      Disc 3

      • 1. You Weren't Born You Were Created (Live)
      • 2. Brand New Cadillac
      • 3. Don't Be Sorry
      • 4. Too Far Gone
      • 5. No Great Shakes
      • 6. Rock And Roll Traitor
      • 7. He Tells Me He Loves Me
      • 8. La Juice
      • 9. Garbagebrain
      • 10. Leave Me Alone
      • 11. My Emancipation
      • 12. Shelter From The Rain
      • 13. Plutonium Mind Shock
      • 14. The Curse
      • 15. So It's Not To Be
      • 16. Farmer John
      • 17. The Hell Train
      • 18. Hellhag Shuffle
      • 19. Ringing In My Ears
      • 20. This Is The End Of The World (Demo)