On The Dancefloor With A Fingersnap


Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: BCD17718

Format Details:

Release Date:  08 December 2023

Label:  Bear Family (Code 7)

Packaging Type:  Digipak

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  4000127177186

Genres:  Rock  Rock 'N' Roll  

  • Description

    Never underestimate the percussive power of the simple fingerpop. Snapping one's digits while listening to a cool melody can be tremendously satisfying and more than a little therapeutic - and this collection will have you doing precisely that from one end of its expertly curated songstack to the other. From deep-voiced Joe Henderson's '62 smash Snap Your Fingersand The Coasters' hipster streetlife vignette Three Cool Catsto Tennessee Ernie Ford's immortal Sixteen Tonsand Peggy Lee's slinky Fever, you'll find the whole thing hard to resist. Not every selection is as well-known as those classics - obscurities by Pat Morrissey, Al Brown & His Tunetoppers, Dean Reed, Birdie Green, and Bill Haley and His Comets are but a few of its happy surprises (and you haven't lived until you've heard blues immortal B.B. King take on 16 Tons).

    They're interspersed with more familiar inclusions by Ronnie Love, Connie Francis, Little Willie John, Roger Miller, LaVern Baker, and Chicago rock and roller Steve King (Satan Is Her Name)that'll have you sharpening up your fingers in delighted anticipation of snapping along.

    So get ready to get cool when you drop this disc in your changer - you'll be fingerpopping like a pro!

    • In the CD series 'On The Dancefloor With ...' featuring the best danceable music, Bear Family Records here deals with those songs that are accompanied by a percussive finger snap.
    • * Everybody knows Fever, the umpteen times covered cool anthem. We offer Peggy Lee's great version - and that's just one example.
    • * Without giving too much away, the album delivers irresistible grooves and songs by Joe Henderson, the Coasters, Tennessee Ernie Ford, Bill Haley, Dean Reed, Pat Morrissey and even B.B. King, Roger Miller and many others.
    • * Chicago music historian Bill Dahl has written the detailed liner notes in the illustrated booklet to this CD compiled by Nico Feuerbach.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Joe Henderson - Snap Your Fingers
      • 2. The Coasters - Three Cool Cats
      • 3. B. B. King - 16 Tons
      • 4. Peggy Lee - Fever
      • 5. Steve Gibson and The Original Red Caps - Big Game Hunter
      • 6. Little Willie John - My Nerves
      • 7. Pat Morrisey - Trapped In The Web Of Love
      • 8. Roger Miller - King Of The Road
      • 9. Connie Francis - Fallin'
      • 10. Nappy Brown - Coal Miner
      • 11. Al Brown and his Tunetoppers - Sweet Little Love
      • 12. Brook Benton - Hotel Happiness
      • 13. Chuck Miller - Lookout Mountain
      • 14. Ruth Brown - Walk With Me Lord
      • 15. Hank Thompson - I Cast A Lonesome Shadow
      • 16. Wynonie Harris - A Tale Of Woe
      • 17. Bill Haley and his Comets - Hawk
      • 18. Dr. Horse - Jack That Cat Was Clean
      • 19. Ronnie Love - Chills And Fever
      • 20. Dick Penner - Cindy Lou
      • 21. LaVern Baker - Tiny Tim
      • 22. Elvis Presley - Fever
      • 23. Jimmy Dean - Sixteen Tons
      • 24. Tommy Sands - Doctor Heartache
      • 25. Dean Reed - Pistolero
      • 26. Sanford Clark - Love Charms
      • 27. The Platters - My Heart Belongs To Daddy
      • 28. Steve King and The Echolons - Satan Is Her Name
      • 29. Birdie Green - Tremblin'
      • 30. The Collins KidsHeartbeat
      • 31. Ben HarperI Can't Takit No Longer