Thomas Shippers: A Retrospective

Thomas Schippers; Orchestra Sinfonica di Torino della Rai; New York Philharmonic Orchestra; Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: 2CD

Cat No: WS121419

PRE-ORDER: This item will be shipped with the aim to deliver on release day.

Release Date:  28 June 2024

Label:  Urania Records

Packaging Type:  Digipak

No of Units:  2

Barcode:  8051773574191

Genres:  Classical  Orchestral  

  • Description

    A small discography remains of the great American conductor who died prematurely in 1977, if we exclude the important recordings of complete operas made for RCA and EMI. This 2-CD set highlights some important recordings such as Pictures at an Exhibition, Schubert's Ninth and Strauss' symphonic pieces. An exception is a rarity such as Brahms' Third, never recorded by Schippers and found in a precious RAI document.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Symphony No. 9 in C major, D944 "Great" I. Andante - Allegro ma non troppo
      • 2. Symphony No. 9 in C major, D944 "Great" II. Andante con moto
      • 3. Symphony No. 9 in C major, D944 "Great" III. Allegro molto
      • 4. Symphony No. 9 in C major, D944 "Great" IV. Allegro vivace
      • 5. Till Eulenspiegel lustige Streiche, Op. 28
      • 6. Dance of the Seven Veils, from "Salome"

      Side 2

      • 1. Pictures at an exhibition I. Promenade
      • 2. Pictures at an exhibition II. Gnomus
      • 3. Pictures at an exhibition III. Il vecchio castello
      • 4. Pictures at an exhibition IV. Tuileries
      • 5. Pictures at an exhibition V. Bydlo
      • 6. Pictures at an exhibition VI. Ballet des poussins dans leurs coques
      • 7. Pictures at an exhibition VII. Samuel Goldeberg und Schmuyle
      • 8. Pictures at an exhibition VIII. Limoges - Le marche
      • 9. Pictures at an exhibition IX. Catacombae
      • 10. Pictures at an exhibition X. Cum mortuis in lingua mortua
      • 11. Pictures at an exhibition XI. La cabane sur des pattes de poule
      • 12. Pictures at an exhibition XII. La grande porte de Kiev
      • 13. Symphony No. 3 in F major, Op. 90 I. Allegro con brio
      • 14. Symphony No. 3 in F major, Op. 90 II. Andante
      • 15. Symphony No. 3 in F major, Op. 90 III. Poco Allegretto
      • 16. Symphony No. 3 in F major, Op. 90 IV. Allegro