Suzy Bogguss

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: PRPCD121

Release Date:  17 February 2014

Label:  Proper Records

Packaging Type:  Digipak

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  805520031219

Genres:  Country  

  • Description

    Grammy Award winning Suzy Bogguss didn't set out to craft a Merle Haggard tribute record. Some might call that serendipity; she just calls it "Lucky." An accomplished artist and songwriter in her own right, Bogguss and her husband/co-producer Doug Crider were combing through songs to consider for her next project. Never one to hew to a particular style, having branched out into jazz, folk and swing sounds alongside traditional and modern country, Bogguss kept coming back to a set of songs that spoke to her...and they just happened to be by Haggard. "He really is the poet of the common man," says Bogguss of her album titled "Lucky" and who kicked off her career with 1989's "Somewhere Between," her debut album named after one of Haggard's early songs. "Not every artist has music that is as universal as Merle's. It's pretty heavy-duty stuff, and I think that's why to so many of us who sing and write songs, he's such a king among us." Bogguss dove deeper into Haggard's catalog, taking care to hold on to that original vision of finding songs that resonated with her not just pulling out and recycling the hits. The result is an acoustic record with vibe.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Today I Started Loving You Again
      • 2. Silver Wings
      • 3. The Bottle Let Me Down
      • 4. I Always Get Lucky With You
      • 5. If We Make It Through December
      • 6. Let’s Chase Each Other Round the Room
      • 7. The Runnin’ Kind
      • 8. Going Where The Lonely Go
      • 9. Someday When Things Are Good
      • 10. I Think I’ll Just Stay Here And Drink
      • 11. Sing Me Back Home
      • 12. You Don’t Have Very Far To Go