Ole! Tarantula

Robyn Hitchcock & The Venus 3

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: PRPCD028

Release Date:  02 October 2006

Label:  Proper Records

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  805520030281

Genres:  Rock  Americana  

  • Description

    Robyn Hitchcock sought out some old friends to record his new album, Ole! Tarantula, and he found the Venus 3: Peter Buck, Scott McCaughey and Bill Rieflin. By enlisting "3/4s of the Minus 5 and half of R.E.M.," Hitchcock has created what he calls, "the rockingest record I've made in years." While the album roars with the garage-fueled energy of his Soft Boys days, Hitchcock's lyricism continues to drive his songs. The New York Times says, "[His songs] bridge the psychedelia of Pink Floyd's Syd Barrett and the archetypal English 'nonsense' of Edward Lear." In addition to the Venus 3 core group, Ole! Tarantula was engineered by Seattle mainstay Kurt Bloch and features a cast of recurrent and new characters in the Hitchcock story: Morris Windsor (Soft Boys/Egyptians), Sean Nelson (Harvey Danger), Chris Ballew (Presidents of The United States of America), Kimberly Rew (Soft Boys) and Ian McLagan (The Faces). Tracks: Adventure Rocket Ship / Underground Sun / Museum Of Sex / Belltown Ramble / Ole! Tarantula / (A Man's Gotta Know His Limitations) Briggs / Red Locust Frenzy / Cause It's Love (Saint Parallelogram) / The Authority Box / N.Y. Doll.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Adventure Rocket Ship
      • 2. Underground Sun
      • 3. Museum Of Sex
      • 4. Belltown Ramble
      • 5. Ole! Tarantula
      • 6. (A Man's Gotta Know His Limittations) Briggs
      • 7. Red Locust Frenzy
      • 8. Cause It's Love (Saint Parallelogram)
      • 9. The Authority Box
      • 10. N.Y Doll